電影 和攝影

第一幀

標題邊界
Apex 一直並將繼續成為任何嚴肅的自然歷史紀錄片製作的首選。 我們的專長是與紀錄片攝製組分享我們對鯊魚的知識和熱情,以幫助開發最具視覺刺激性但對環境敏感且事實正確的紀錄片。

多年來,Apex Shark Expeditions 為許多著名的鯊魚紀錄片提供了便利。 其中一些包括:

著名的 Air Jaws 系列已在探索頻道、Shark After Dark、名人鯊魚週、Animal Planet、BBC 頻道的 – Planet Earth、Life、Africa、Smart Shark、Perfect Killer 和 National Geographic 上看到。

近 30 年的經驗

1993 年,克里斯·法洛斯開始了他的第一部大型電影拍攝工作,即 BBC 的《大白鯊》,在戴爾島拍攝,此後不久,由大衛·阿滕伯勒 (David Attenborough) 旁白的法拉隆群島 (The Farallon Islands) 拍攝。
然而,直到 1997 年,他才開始在福斯灣拍攝紀錄片。 1999 年,Chris 和 Rob 受委託與 JAWS 的作者 Peter Benchley 一起指導和促進國家地理特別大白鯊 - 25 週年紀念活動。 劇組還包括傳奇攝影師大衛杜比萊特和世界上最著名的鯊魚襲擊倖存者羅德尼福克斯。
鯊魚週

主持和展示

除了為攝製組提供便利外,由於我們對該地區的了解,我們還經常親自在紀錄片中擔任主持人或主持人。 克里斯·法洛斯 (Chris Fallows) 是公認的鯊魚週 (Shark Week) 播出的 Air Jaws 紀錄片系列的主持人。 由於他對野生動物的熱情和經驗,他還經常參與其他紀錄片的採訪和銀幕露面。

血管

我們的船是一艘定制的電影和攝影船,允許攝製組和攝影師 360 度四處走動、飛橋和交替角度的潛水板。

特殊效果

在節目的製作過程中,克里斯乘坐潛艇,在自走式鯊魚籠中沿著海底行走,在海豹雪橇上拖在船後面,懸掛在直升機上,豹子爬過沉睡的海豹,用手餵食偉大的大白鯊穿過 1/8 英寸的 Lexan 籠子,在冰川瀑布下拍攝鮭魚,划槳穿過冰山,靠近逆戟鯨。 除此之外,克里斯還與世界各地的大白鯊進行了自由潛水、站立式划槳和劃皮划艇,並且有幸在全球幾乎所有已知地點與他們合作。
在鯊魚紀錄片中,我們使用了各種驚人的裝置和相機技術。 這些包括被拖到誘餌周圍的攝像機以觀察對誘餌的攻擊,被拖到我們船後面的攝像機,帶攝像機的氣動密封,攝像機在真實和遙控直升機上飛行以從誘餌上方拍攝突破口,巨大的在我們的船上建造起重機以拍攝特寫鏡頭、夜間攝像機和熱成像用於天黑後的工作、陀螺穩定的 Cineplex 攝像機、放置在海底的多向攝像機、槳板、皮划艇和 Chris 安裝了來自每個地方的攝像機拍攝他與鯊魚一起工作時所見的角度。
Apex 一直並將繼續成為任何嚴肅的自然歷史紀錄片製作的首選。 我們的專長是與紀錄片攝製組分享我們對鯊魚的知識和熱情,以幫助開發最具視覺刺激性但對環境敏感且事實正確的紀錄片。
為了做這些事情,我們不得不在我們的船上建造一個 6 英尺 + 遙控直升機的大型著陸平台,設計我們的船以容納起重機和裝載潛艇,擁有非常熟練的船長讓我們接近行動和申請許可證和許可來做所有這些美妙的事情。

航海攝影師

我們曾與許多世界頂級航海攝影師合作,包括傑夫·庫爾、托尼·薩科、已故的韋斯·斯凱爾斯、西蒙·金、泰德·吉福德、安迪·布蘭迪·卡薩格蘭德、查爾斯·麥克斯韋、迪迪埃·諾洛、已故的理查德·馬修斯、湯姆·坎貝爾、 Johan Horjus、Ezra Epwell、Chris Everson 以及其他許多優秀且充滿激情的電影製作人。

克里斯、莫妮克和 Apex 團隊參與製作了許多世界上最受矚目和最著名的野生動物紀錄片,並與這麼多才華橫溢、充滿激情的人一起觀看並與之互動,這真是太棒了。 希望在一天結束時,鯊魚受到的關注會以某種方式幫助人們更好地了解它們並希望保護它們。 還希望這些節目給福爾斯灣和南非帶來的令人難以置信的曝光度在某種程度上幫助吸引了成千上萬的遊客到我們的海岸觀看節目的明星大白鯊!

鯊魚紀錄片拍攝

BBC 標誌色
地球:大白鯊節
  • 鯊魚
  • 屬靈生活
  • 非洲
機械鯊
  • 智能鯊魚
  • 南非海岸的鯊魚
  • 完美殺手
  • 特里·納金斯
  • 史蒂夫倫納德
徽標發現-removebg-preview

完美捕食者內部

  • 神話終結者
  • 狂野男孩
  • 瘋狂的麥克和馬克

奈傑爾·馬文-名人鯊魚週

  • 天黑後鯊魚

氣爪系列

國家地理標誌顏色
鯊魚入侵
  • JAWS 25 週年
  • 完美殺手——克拉特兄弟
  • 殺戮地帶
  • 傑夫·科文秀
巨像 - 為傑夫·庫爾而戰
通過與這些頂級電影攝製組的合作,我們在了解電視和電影專業人士的需求方面具有優勢,並且我們有能力指導和指導製作組獲得滿足其特定要求的最佳鏡頭。

攝影

福爾斯灣確實是一個令人難以置信的地方,可以看到令人驚嘆的海洋野生動物,對於攝影師來說,這是一個幾乎無與倫比的機會。
Chris Fallows 是一名專業的野生動物攝影師,他是第一位在福爾斯灣捕捉到大白鯊破壞行為的攝影師。 這些破壞大白鯊的圖像在世界各地的報紙、雜誌和電視紀錄片中都有出現。 通過這些圖像,可以提高人們對鯊魚的積極認識。
鑑於我們的攝影專業知識和我們的工作人員的專業知識,我們協助所有攝影師,無論是業餘愛好者還是專業攝影師,在不影響野生動物的情況下,將光線和動作置於最佳位置。 這就是為什麼 Apex 是許多世界頂級野生動物攝影師和攝製組的首選。

福斯灣和開普水域攝影指南

大白鯊

對於壯觀的大白鯊攝影來說,海豹島是無與倫比的。
傳說中的破壞和狩獵大白鯊讓永遠警覺的攝影師有機會捕捉到這些超級捕食者在行動中真正鼓舞人心的水上圖像。 與任何野生動物攝影一樣,光線、船隻的位置和與餵食事件的接近程度都經過仔細考慮,以便為攝影師提供最佳但也是最受尊重的機會,以合乎道德的方式捕捉這些事件。
雖然大白鯊可以隨時突破,但最常見的是在 XNUMX 月下旬和 XNUMX 月的清晨看到這種行為。 在許多天裡,可能會看到一些活躍的進食事件,而在其他日子裡,幾乎沒有或根本沒有。 在旺季期間,每天早上通常會看到至少五次或更多不同持續時間的狩獵活動。
在 XNUMX 月到 XNUMX 月初,生病、死亡或垂死的海豹的覓食活動很常見,雖然鯊魚在覓食期間很少闖入,但它仍然讓攝影師有機會看到表面傳播的自然覓食事件。
如果您真的很想有機會拍攝出色的圖像,那麼請給自己時間考慮天氣、可變照明,當然還有每天可能帶來的目擊變化。
通常建議使用具有高幀率和快速鏡頭的相機機身,但對於拍攝漏洞當然不是必需的。 克里斯使用佳能 90-70 F 200 鏡頭拍攝了 2.8% 的水上鯊魚和海洋野生動物攝影作品。
鯊魚週的空氣顎
跟隨其中一所海豚學校,親眼目睹它們以誘餌魚為食,並讓海豚在前往海豹島的途中與我們的船隻互動,同時弓騎或在狩獵期間突破。 這些學校可以達到 3000 +,所以這是一個了不起的奇觀。 如果幸運的話,我們可能會在誘餌球餵食活動中看到他們與布氏鯨一起。 這當然不會每天發生。
在 100 月至 1000 月期間,在整個福斯灣,有 XNUMX 只,有時甚至 XNUMX 只塘鵝跟隨誘餌魚,並經常對這些魚群進行壯觀的空中襲擊,使我們能夠近距離接觸這些魚群。
在福斯灣看到逆戟鯨獵殺海豚的機會很小。
我們在開普角近海發現了所有這些物種。 鯊魚的水下圖像通常是從籠子裡拍攝的。 還有一個很好的機會從非常近的距離看到四種信天翁以及大量其他鳥類。 這是一個難得的機會,可以近距離接觸這些鳥類,並從水中拍攝開普角附近的壯觀景色。
我們發現這些史前鯊魚大約在海岸附近。 12 米的水深,它們很容易拍攝。

我們可以在海豹島 64 只海豹的幾米範圍內到達,攝影師可以近距離拍攝這一奇觀。
有機會通過浮潛或水肺潛水與海角毛皮海豹一起拍攝水下圖像。

非洲企鵝棲息地是陸地。 攝影師可以近距離接觸企鵝,並在巨石海灘企鵝棲息地的美麗圓形巨石中拍攝這些鳥類的照片。

開普角自然保護區風景優美的旅遊提供了拍攝動植物、狒狒和其他野生動物的機會。

鯊魚籠潛水員的首選:

國家地理標誌顏色
發現標誌顏色
動物星球標誌顏色
BBC 標誌色

Film and Photography

First Frame

heading-border
Apex has been and continues to be the first choice of any serious natural history documentary production. Our speciality has been to share our knowledge and passion we have for the sharks with documentary crews to help develop the most visually stimulating yet environmentally sensitive and factually correct documentary’s possible.

Apex Shark Expeditions have facilitated many well-known shark documentaries over the years. Some of these include:

The famous Air Jaws series that has been seen on Discovery Channel, Shark After Dark, Celebrity Shark week, Animal Planet, BBC Channel’s – Planet Earth, Life, Africa, Smart Shark, Perfect Killer and National Geographic.

Nearly 30 years of Experience

In 1993, Chris Fallows worked on his first major film shoot, BBC’s Great White Shark, shot at Dyer Island and soon thereafter, The Farallon Islands, narrated by David Attenborough.
However it was not before 1997 that he started facilitating documentaries in False Bay. In 1999, Chris and Rob were commissioned to guide and facilitate the National Geographic Special Jaws- 25th Year Anniversary with the author of JAWS, Peter Benchley. The crew also included legendary photographer, David Doubilet and the world’s most famous shark attack survivor, Rodney Fox.
Shark Week

Hosting & Presenting

Apart from facilitating film crews, we very often personally feature in the documentaries as presenters or hosts due to our knowledge of the area. Chris Fallows is well recognized as the host in the Air Jaws documentary series aired on Shark Week. He is also regularly involved with interviews in other documentaries and on screen appearances due to his passion and experiences with wildlife.

The Vessel

Our vessel is a custom built film and photographic vessel allowing film crews and photographers a 360 degree walk around, fly bridge, and a dive board for alternate angles.

Special Effects

During the making of the shows Chris has been down in a submarine, walked along the ocean floor in a self- propelled shark cage, towed behind a boat on a seal sled, hung out of helicopters, leopard crawled through sleeping seals, hand fed Great white sharks through 1/8 inch Lexan cages, filmed salmon under glacier fed waterfalls, paddle-boarded through ice bergs and next to orca. In addition to this Chris has free dived, stand up paddle boarded and kayaked with Great white sharks in location worldwide, and been lucky enough to work with them at virtually every known site where they occur globally.
During shark documentaries we have worked with all sorts of amazing contraptions and camera technologies. These have included cameras being towed in and next to decoys to view an attack on the decoy, cameras being towed behind our boat, pneumatic seals with cameras, cameras been flown in real and remote controlled helicopters to film a breach from above a decoy, huge cranes being built on our boat to film a breach from close up, night cameras and thermal imaging for after dark work, gyro stabilised Cineplex cameras, multidirectional cameras being placed on the sea floor, paddle boards, kayaks and Chris being fitted with cameras from every angle to film what he sees when he is working with the sharks.
Apex has been and continues to be the first choice of any serious natural history documentary production. Our speciality has been to share our knowledge and passion we have for the sharks with documentary crews to help develop the most visually stimulating yet environmentally sensitive and factually correct documentary’s possible.
To do these things we had to amongst other things, build a landing platform for a large 6 Ft + remote controlled helicopter on our boat, design our boat to accommodate cranes and load submarines, have very skilled skippers to get us close to the action and apply for permits and permission to do all these wonderful things.

Marine Cameramen

We have worked with many of the world’s top marine cameramen, incl+uding Jeff Kurr, Tony Sacco, the late Wes Skyles, Simon King, Ted Gifford, Andy Brandy Cassagrande, Charles Maxwell, Didier Noirot, the late Richard Matthews, Tom Cambell, Johan Horjus, Ezra Epwell, Chris Everson and many other excellent and passionate film makers.

It has been amazing for Chris, Monique, and the Apex Team to be part of the production of many of the worlds most watched and celebrated wildlife documentaries and to see and interact with so many incredibly talented and passionate individuals. Hopefully at the end of the day the attention that the sharks received will in some way go to help people understand them better and hopefully conserve them. It is also hoped that the incredible exposure these shows have given False Bay and South Africa have in some way helped attract thousands of tourists to our shores to see the Great white sharks, the stars of the shows!

Shark Documentaries shot

BBC-logo-color
Planet Earth: Great White Sharksegment
  • Shark
  • Life
  • Africa
Robo Shark
  • Smart Shark
  • Sharks of the South African Coast
  • Perfect Killers
  • Terry Nutkins
  • Steve Leonard
logo-discovery-removebg-preview

Inside the Perfect Predator

  • Myth-busters
  • Wild Boys
  • Mad Mike & Mark

Nigel Marvin-Celebrity Shark Week

  • Shark After Dark

The Air Jaws Series

national-geo-logo-color
Shark Invasion
  • JAWS 25 Year Anniversary
  • Perfect Killers – The Kratt Brothers
  • The Kill Zone
  • The Jeff Corwin Show
Colossus - Breaching for Jeff Kurr
Through our work with these top film crews, we have the edge on understanding the needs of television and film professionals and we are equipped to guide and direct production crews to get the best footage possible for their specific requirements.

Photography

False Bay truly is an incredible place to see amazing marine wildlife and for photographers an opportunity almost without equal.
Chris Fallows is a professional wildlife photographer and he was the first photographer to capture the breaching behaviour of the Great White Shark in False Bay. These breaching Great white shark images have been seen in newspapers, magazines and television documentaries, worldwide. Through this imagery, the positive awareness of sharks is promoted.
Given our photographic expertise and that of our crew, we assist all photographers, amateur and professional alike to be in the best possible position for light and the action without compromising the wildlife. This is why Apex is the first choice for many of the world’s top wildlife photographers and film crews.

Photographic Guide for False Bay and Cape Waters

Great White Shark

For spectacular Great White Shark photography Seal Island has no match.
The legendary breaching and hunting Great white sharks give the ever alert photographer a chance to capture truly inspiring topside water images of these super predators in action. As with any wildlife photography, light, position of the vessel and proximity to feeding events are carefully considered to give photographers the best, but also most respectful chance, at ethically capturing these events.
Whilst Great whites can breach at any time it is most typical to see this behaviour in the early mornings in late June and July. On many days several active feeding events may be seen and on others few or none at all. During the peak season at least five or more hunting events of varying durations are typically seen each morning.
During the months of February to early May, scavenging events on sick, dead or dying seals are commonly seen, and whilst sharks seldom breach during scavenges it still allows photographers the chance to see a surface borne natural feeding event.
If you are really serious about getting a chance to shoot great images, then give yourself time to allow for weather, variable lighting, and of course the variations in sightings that each day may bring.
Typically a camera body with a high frame rate and fast lenses are recommended, but certainly not essential for shooting breaches. Chris shoots 90% of his above water shark and marine wildlife photography with a Canon 70-200 F 2.8 lens.
Shark Week's Air Jaws
Follow one of the dolphin schools to witness them feed on bait fish as well as have the dolphins interact with our vessel on it’s way to Seal Island whilst bow riding or breaching during hunting. These schools can get to be as large as 3000 + so this is an amazing spectacle. If we are lucky, we might see them joined by a Brydes whale on a bait ball feeding event. This certainly does not happen everyday.
Throughout False Bay during March to May, 100’s and sometimes 1000’s of gannets follow the bait fish and often engage in spectacular aerial assaults on these schools of fish allowing us to get up close amongst this action.
There is a very small chance to see orca hunting dolphin in False Bay.
We find all these species offshore of Cape Point. The underwater imagery of the sharks are usually shot from the cage. There is also a very good chance to see four species of Albatross from very close distances as well as a mass of other bird life. This is an incredible opportunity to get close to these birds as well as shooting spectacular scenery off Cape Point from the water.
We find these prehistoric sharks close in shore in approx. 12 metres of water and they are easy subjects to photograph.

We can get within a few meters of Seal Island’s 64 000 seals and photographers can get great up close topside shots of this spectacle.
There is an opportunity to shoot underwater images by snorkelling or scuba diving with Cape fur seals.

The African Penguin colony is land based. Photographers can get close to the penguins and shoot images of these birds amongst beautifully rounded Boulders at the Boulders beach penguin colony.

A scenic tour to Cape Point Nature Reserve offers an opportunity to shoot fauna and flora, baboons and other wildlife.

The First Choice Shark Cage Diving Operator For:

national-geo-logo-color
discovery-logo-color
animal-planet-logo-color
BBC-logo-color
New Level 4 Restrictions.

The new level 4 restrictions announced by the government of South Africa have not affected our shark tours and cage diving operations.

We are operating.

Book with confidence – if your day trip bookings are affected due to COVID 19 restrictions, free cancellation applies.

Looking forward to hosting you.