鯊魚 紀錄片

Apex Shark Expeditions 和 Chris Fallows 曾出現在自然歷史頻道的許多鯊魚紀錄片中,Apex 是南非幾乎所有嚴肅的以鯊魚為導向的紀錄片的首選。

Air Jaws 系列是我們在 Discovery 上曝光超過 20 年的鯊魚紀錄片旗艦。

空氣顎是如何開始的

探索頻道試圖通過與合作夥伴組織 Oceana、海洋保護協會和皮尤慈善信託基金的公共服務公告,教育公眾了解世界各地鯊魚的困境。 公益廣告每晚在黃金時段播出,向觀眾介紹當前鯊魚種群數量銳減所面臨的威脅。
在 2000 年之前,沒有多少人相信大白鯊可以完全離開水面。
2000 年,Discovery's Shark Week 的製片人 Jeff Kurr 前往南非,希望成為第一個捕捉到棲息在海豹島福爾斯灣的大白鯊令人難以置信的狩獵技術的人。
為了捕食海豹,大白鯊有能力突破水面。 在空中,2000 磅重的獵人抓住他們的獵物,同時將他們的身體完全抬出水面,這是電視上很少看到的驚人壯舉,直到 Jeff Kurr 和 Shark Week 的 Air Jaws Series 正確捕捉到這一現象。
20 年來,庫爾一直在探索鯊魚週工作,此後定期前往南非福斯灣與鯊魚專家克里斯·法洛斯一起捕捉這些跳躍的鯊魚。
巨像 - 為傑夫·庫爾而戰

氣爪現象

能夠從這麼多不同的角度捕捉大白鯊的破壞行為意味著在現場花費了大量時間。 然而,關鍵的成功之一是利用了有關海豹島地區和鯊魚行為的極其寶貴的信息,這些信息是 Apex Shark Expeditions 船員在過去 21 年中記錄的。

隨著技術的進步,新的相機允許以前所未有的方式拍攝跳躍的鯊魚,為那些無法親身體驗的人帶來突破大白鯊的威嚴。 鯊魚從深海全速奔跑並在水面上捕捉誘餌的圖像、鯊魚在皮划艇上調查克里斯·法洛斯的三個不同角度的圖像,或者海豹雪橇上的大白鯊沖向克里斯的令人難忘的鏡頭已經成為鯊魚週的標誌。
配備新高清技術的工作人員每次訪問都增加了賭注。 該團隊使用 Phantom 相機(一種以每秒 2,000 幀的速度拍攝的高速相機)來捕捉鯊魚在許多其他小工具和裝置中躍出水面的每一個細節。
許多海豹島現在著名的地標,如發射台、畫廊和臭名昭著的死亡之環,都是在這部鯊魚紀錄片中得名的。

空氣顎時間表

拍攝了有史以來第一次直升機突破、夜間餵食和大規模餵食鯨魚屍體。 在鯨魚屍體拍攝過程中,洛基·斯特朗博士坐在鯨魚屍體上而白鯊在旁邊餵食的令人難忘的場景是許多人記憶中的時刻。

該節目捕捉到了澳大利亞和新新島有史以來第一次破壞鯊魚的鏡頭,並首次展示了大白鯊從水下攻擊誘餌的畫面。 船員們最頭疼的問題之一是在澳大利亞等待鯊魚。 在南澳大利亞的三個星期裡,只看到了三條鯊魚。

這個節目吹噓了許多新裝置,包括將克里斯·福洛斯拖到幾米範圍內的海豹雪橇,克里斯在水下跟踪鯊魚的黃色潛艇和空中拍攝的多條大白鯊在皮划艇上與克里斯互動。 然而,主要特點是由 Tony Sacco 在 Phantom 相機上拍攝的超慢動作視頻片段。 這段從實時一秒到近一分鐘破壞大白鯊的鏡頭為觀眾提供了無與倫比的分辨率和如此之多的細節,觀眾可以從字面上數出鯊魚嘴裡的每一顆牙齒。

該團隊配備了專為從新的角度捕捉海洋頂級捕食者而設計的最先進的相機,開始了他們的最新探索,特別是尋找一隻鯊魚,一種被稱為巨像的 14 英尺大白鯊。 海豹島平淡平靜的一天,柔和的金色粉紅色光芒在最後一縷陽光說再見時親吻霍滕托特荷蘭山脈。 真的是幾秒鐘後就結束了,回家然後哇! 一個巨大的大白鯊垂直發射在傑夫身後,它是巨像,張大嘴巴,處於完整的狩獵模式,這是多麼令人難以置信的一天結束,拍攝和令人驚嘆的拍攝。

巨像在行動中失踪,克里斯·法洛斯和傑夫·庫爾聯手尋找巨大的雄性大白鯊。 這一次傑夫設計了一個單人籠子,克里斯可以在海底走動的黃蜂,就像弗雷德·弗林斯通背著龜殼走來走去一樣。 另一個亮點是 Dickie Chivell 和 Jeff Kurr 設計的名為 Parthenope 的載人漂浮裝置。 它類似於一條 15 英尺長的大型雌性白鯊,並配有可移動的部件,Dickie 躺在上面時可以操縱和移動。 這個想法是為了吸引一隻巨大的雄性白鯊過來看看雌性。 我們設法讓 Dickie 在 Parthenope 的水中下水,果然我們開始引起幾條鯊魚的注意。

在與新西蘭的惡劣天氣和條件作鬥爭後,船員們返回了乾斯拜。 這是 Dickie Chivell 大放異彩的時候,因為 Dickie 的被拖在船後面,他的飛船被稱為大黃蜂。 由於非常缺乏更好的描述,大黃蜂是一個非常輕的籠子,懸掛在兩個浮筒下方。 它允許 Dickie 向後拍攝,但他不得不處理巨大的水壓和有限的能見度,而且沒有警告鯊魚可能來自何處和何時。 2個多小時後,一條巨大的鯊魚從綠色中衝了出來。 我們有兩台高清高速攝像機、一架無人機、我的劇照和 Dickie Chivell 的水下角度。 迪基和船上的所有人都從每個可以想像的角度確定了壯觀的突破口。 驚人的!
我們嘗試做的事情以前從未嘗試過大白鯊。 那是為了拍攝他們在夜間從船上狩獵和破壞。 然而,這一次我們擁有令人難以置信的低光相機的優勢,使夜間看起來像白天,具有諷刺意味的是,這是我們的缺點。 人們將我們拍攝的所有照片與白天拍攝的照片進行比較,並評論“這不是一個大漏洞”或“我見過更高的漏洞”是司空見慣的。 錯過的事實是你所看到的一切都是在晚上拍攝的。 白天很難知道大白鯊在哪裡,而且通常很難發現它們的獵物海豹,但我可以在晚上告訴你,這幾乎是不可能的。

如果大白鯊和逆戟鯨必須戰鬥,誰會贏? 三頭大白鯊屍體在幹斯拜地區被沖上岸。 三條鯊魚都是大型動物,肝臟缺失。 XNUMX 月下旬,在 Gansbaai 海灘上發現了第四條大白鯊,它的肝臟也不見了。 現在很明顯,有什麼東西在故意殺死Air Jaws……
克里斯·法洛斯(Chris Fallows)和傑夫·庫爾(Jeff Kurr)沿著南開普海灘的兩個逆戟鯨、左舷和右舷的骯髒工作的破壞路徑。 海洋生物學家艾莉森·湯納 (Alison Towner) 對所有死去的鯊魚進行解剖,成為揭開謎團的中心。 她開始尋找這些神秘事件背後的線索和令人不安的信息。

為鯊魚週製作了總共 8 部不同的 Air Jaws 紀錄片,Air Jaws 團隊聚集在新西蘭拍攝最新一期。 大白鯊系列是探索頻道鯊魚週最成功的系列節目,因此為了慶祝鯊魚週 30 週年,我們將匯集大白鯊最偉大時刻的精彩集錦。

由鯊魚專家 Chris Fallows、海洋生物學家 Alison Towner 和 Enrico Gennari 博士領導的三個研究小組潛入水中測量莫塞爾灣有多少大白鯊。 該地區成為“Air Jaws”之後的熱點 殺手逆戟鯨在 2017 年的數量大幅減少 嚇得他們離開了南非的傳統狩獵場。 由於過度捕撈獵物(較小的鯊魚)和氣候變化帶來了額外的威脅,研究人員擔心莫塞爾灣可能是 最後 觀看鯊魚沿著該國海岸線飛行的地方——這裡曾經是估計 1,000 隻大白鯊的家園。

Air Jaws 團隊返回 Seal Rock 以捕捉有史以來最高的突破。 Rocket Shark 保持著 15 英尺的記錄。

這是一個偉大的白鯊面對! 鯊魚正在爭奪最高的跳躍,看他們的速度和最重要的暫停時間來確定獲勝者。 

我們必須採取措施保護這些大白鯊,因為它們正處於滅絕的邊緣,”電影製片人傑夫·庫爾 (Jeff Kurr) 說。 “Air Jaws還有機會捲土重來嗎?”

我們將不得不等待,看看 2022 年會帶來什麼………………。

空氣鉗 WASP

了解巨像

巨像——他是鯊魚的聖杯嗎? 自然界中很少有事物像處於狩獵能力頂峰的完全成熟的雄性大白鯊那樣令人敬畏。 2011 年,當他飛越乘坐海豹雪橇的傑夫·庫爾 (Jeff Kurr) 時,首次觀察到他。 一條 3,000 磅重的鯊魚在空中飛翔,引起您的注意。 我們已經看到 Colossus 在福斯灣的海豹島閒逛了幾個星期,殺死海豹,咀嚼攝製組的攝像機。 現在海豹島的許多鯊魚都是常客。 他們每年在同一時間回來從事狩獵活動。 當 Chris 和 Monique Fallows 告訴傑夫 Colossus 下個賽季沒有返回海豹島時,他開始提問。 為什麼這條占主導地位的鯊魚會在海豹島留下一場宴會?
Air Jaws 團隊花了兩年時間尋找他。 任務只是重新觀察這種動物。 但是在一個大約有 1,000 條大白鯊的地區找到一條鯊魚並不容易。 他們依賴於現有的白鯊遷徙數據及其本能,以及巨像留給我們的一條線索:畸形的背鰭。 Colossus 的背部與其他鯊魚不同,所以我們知道如果我們發現了它的背部,即使是一秒鐘,我們也可以肯定地識別出這條魚。 Colossus 大約 14 到 15 英尺,重 3,000 磅,當他飛過你的頭頂時,他看起來真的非常非常大。

認識克里斯·法洛斯

克里斯在非洲的野生動物保護區長大,並由此對野生動物產生了熱愛。 當他搬到海岸時,他對海洋的熱愛變得更加強烈,他與當地漁民一起開始了一項標籤和釋放計劃,幫助從漁網中解救鯊魚。 有一天,他抓到了一隻年輕的大白鯊,這讓他對大白鯊產生了濃厚的興趣。 1991 年,一個研究小組為他提供了一個與大白鯊合作的志願者職位。 1996 年,他創辦了自己的公司非洲鯊魚生態憲章。 2000 年,我們與他的妻子 Monique 一起從這家公司分拆出來,成立了 Apex Shark Expeditions,專注於該地區的所有鯊魚和野生動物。 1996 年,他在海豹島發現了鯊魚獨特的破壞行為,並繼續用照片記錄下來。

在“Air Jaws”特別節目中,他走極端去捕捉鯊魚突破的鏡頭。 他為獲得正確的射擊所做的最瘋狂的事情是被拖在海豹雪橇上的船隻後面,以便讓海豹了解被大白鯊獵殺的感覺。 Chris Fallows 記錄了超過 13,000 次掠奪性事件,因此很清楚雪橇是否會被擊中。
“Air Jaws”系列的流行意味著克里斯幾乎成為了探索鯊魚週的人臉。

了解迪基奇維爾

Dickie Chivell 對鯊魚沒有太多恐懼。 但他確實有一個理論,這就是為什麼當多條大白鯊在他身下游泳時,他最終得到了一個看起來很脆弱的自製誘餌。 他在 2014 年至 2020 年期間出現在鯊魚週上是一次改變人生的經歷,尤其是與 Chris Fallows、Jeff Kurr 和 Andy Brandy Casagrande 等人合作。 他是一位真正的海洋保護大使。
Chivell 是一位在南非甘斯拜漁鎮長大的年輕人,他懷疑雄性大白鯊可能會被雌性誘餌引誘到水面。 所以他建造了一個 14 英尺的裝置,以希臘神話中的警報器命名為 Parthenope,它模仿了雌性大白鯊的運動。 Dickiel 說服了正在為“鯊魚週”製作紀錄片的傑夫·庫爾和克里斯·法洛斯讓他在鏡頭前測試他的理論。 當奇維爾駕駛誘餌穿越水面時,大白鯊的數量不斷增加並開始表現出攻擊性行為。 Dickie 被從裝置中取出,隨後被鯊魚調查。 這是與 Dickie Chivell 在鯊魚週上許多令人毛骨悚然的時刻的開始。
鯊魚籠潛水開普敦

鯊魚籠潛水員的首選:

國家地理標誌顏色
發現標誌顏色
動物星球標誌顏色
BBC 標誌色

Shark Documentaries

Apex Shark Expeditions and Chris Fallows have featured on the many shark documentaries on the Natural History Channels with Apex being the first choice for virtually any serious shark orientated documentary in South Africa.

The Air Jaws series is our flagship of Shark documentaries with over 20 years of exposure on Discovery.

How Air Jaws Started

Discovery Channel sought to educate the public about the plight of sharks around the world through public service announcements with partner organizations Oceana, Ocean Conservancy and The Pew Charitable Trust. The PSAs aired each night during primetime, informing viewers about threats currently facing plummeting shark populations.
Prior to 2000 not many people believed that Great white sharks could launch themselves completely out of the water.
In 2000, producer Jeff Kurr of Discovery’s Shark Week, traveled to South Africa hoping to be the first to capture the incredible hunting techniques of the Great white sharks that inhabit Seal Island, False Bay.
To feed on seals, the Great white sharks have the ability to breach the water’s surface. Going airborne, the 2000-pound hunters grab their prey while lifting their bodies entirely out of the water, an amazing feat seldom seen on television until Jeff Kurr and Shark Week’s Air Jaws Series properly captured the phenomenon.
Working on Discovery’s Shark Week for 20 years, Kurr traveled regularly to False Bay, South Africa thereafter to capture these jumping sharks together with shark expert, Chris Fallows.
Colossus - Breaching for Jeff Kurr

The Air Jaws Phenomenon

To be able to capture the Great white shark breaching behavior from so many different angles has meant much time spent in the field. One of the key successes has however been to make use of extremely valuable information on the Seal Island area and shark behavior that the Apex Shark Expeditions crew have recorded over the last 20 years.
As technology has advanced, new cameras have allowed the jumping sharks to be filmed like never before bringing the majesty of breaching Great white sharks to those who cannot experience this in person. Images of sharks racing at full speed from the deep and catching a decoy on the surface, three different angles of sharks investigating Chris Fallows on a kayak or the unforgettable shot of a Great white breaching towards Chris on the Seal sled have become Shark Week icons.
The stakes were upped every visit by the crew being armed with new HD technology. The team used the Phantom camera, a high speed camera shooting at 2,000 frames per second, to capture every detail of a shark’s jump from the water amongst many other gadgets and contraptions.
Many of Seal Island’s now famous landmarks such as the Launch Pad, The Gallery and the infamous Ring of Death got their names during this shark documentary.

Air Jaws Timeline

The first ever helicopter breach, night time feeding and mass feeding on a whale carcass was filmed. During the whale carcass filming the unforgettable scene of Dr Rocky Strong sitting on top of the carcass whilst white sharks fed alongside was a moment many remember.

This show captured the first ever breaching shark footage from Australia as well as Ano Nuevo Island and also for the first time showed Great whites attacking decoys from underwater. One of the biggest headaches for the crew was the wait for sharks in Australia. During the three weeks in South Australia only three sharks were seen.

This show boasted many new contraptions including the seal sled that towed Chris Fallows within a few meters of breaching sharks, the yellow submarine that Chris followed sharks with underwater and aerial shots of multiple Great whites interacting with Chris on a kayak. The main feature was however the super slow motion video footage shot on the Phantom camera by Tony Sacco. This footage of breaching Great white sharks from one second in real time to almost a full minute offered viewer’s unparalleled resolution and so much detail the viewers could literally count every tooth in the shark’s mouth.

Equipped with state of the art cameras specially designed to capture the ocean’s top predator from new perspectives, the team embarked on their latest quest to seek out one shark in particular, a 14-foot Great white known as Colossus. A flat calm Seal Island day, soft golden pink light kissing the Hottentots Holland Mountains as the last rays of sun said goodbye. It was literally seconds before calling it a day and going home and then WHOOSH! a huge Great white launched vertically behind Jeff, it was Colossus, mouth agape and in full hunting mode, what an incredible end to the day and the shoot and a shot that was jawsome.

Colossus is missing in action and Chris Fallows and Jeff Kurr team up in search of the huge male Great white shark. This time Jeff had designed a one-man cage, the WASP which Chris could walk around on the seafloor much the same way Fred Flintstone walked around with a tortoise shell on his back. Another highlight was the manned floatation device called Parthenope that Dickie Chivell and Jeff Kurr designed. It resembled a large 15ft long female white shark and came complete with moving parts that could be steered and moved by Dickie whilst lying on it. The idea was to attract a huge male white shark to come and have a look at the female. We managed to get Dickie in the water on the Parthenope and sure enough we started getting the attention of several sharks.

After battling the elements and conditions in New Zealand, the crew returned to Gansbaai. This was Dickie Chivell’s time to shine as Dickie’s was towed behind the boat, in his craft dubbed the Hornet. The Hornet was for very lack of a better description, a very lightweight cage suspended below two pontoons of air. It allowed Dickie to film backwards but he had to deal with huge water pressure and limited visibility with no warning as to where and when a shark may be coming from. Over 2 hours later, out of the green a huge shark breached. We had two High definition high speed cameras, a drone, my stills and Dickie Chivell’s underwater angle. Dickie as well as all on board had nailed the spectacular breach from every conceivable angle. Amazing!
What we were trying to do had never been attempted before with Great white sharks. That was to film them hunting and breaching at night from a boat. This time we however had the advantage of incredibly low light cameras that made night time look like daytime and ironically this was our shortcoming. People compared all the shots we got with those that were shot during the day and comment “that wasn’t such a big breach” or “I’ve seen higher breaches” were common place. The fact that was missed was that everything you were seeing was shot at night. It is hard to know where a Great white shark is in the day and often difficult to spot their prey, the seals, but I can tell you at night, it is nigh on impossible.

If a Great white shark and an Orca had to do battle, who would win? Three Great white shark carcasses are washed ashore in the Gansbaai area. All three sharks were large animals and had missing livers. In late June a fourth large Great white shark was found on a Gansbaai beach, also with a missing liver. It was now crystal clear that something was intentionally killing Air Jaws…
Chris Fallows and Jeff Kurr follow the path of destruction of the two Orca, Port and Starboard’s dirty work along the Southern Cape beaches. Marine biologist, Alison Towner becomes the centre of the unfolding mystery as she performs dissections on all the deceased sharks. She begins to find clues and disturbing information behind these mysterious events begins to unravel.

With a grand total of 8 different Air Jaws Documentaries produced for Shark Week, the Air Jaws Team gathered in New Zealand to film the latest instalment. The Air Jaws franchise has been the most successful series of shows for Discovery Channel’s Shark Week so in celebration of Shark Week’s 30th Anniversary we would be putting together a highlights package of the greatest moments of Air Jaws.

Three research teams—led by shark expert Chris Fallows,  marine biologists Alison Towner and Dr Enrico Gennari dive to gauge how many Great white sharks are in Mossel Bay. This area became a hot spot for “Air Jaws” after killer orcas decimated their numbers in 2017 and scared them off their traditional hunting grounds in South Africa. With overfishing of their prey (smaller sharks) and climate change presenting additional threats, researchers worry Mossel Bay may be the last place to see sharks fly along the country’s coastline—which was once home to an estimated 1,000 great whites.

We have to do something to protect these Great white sharks because they are on the brink of annihilation,” says filmmaker Jeff Kurr. “Does Air Jaws have a chance of making a comeback?”

We’ll have to wait and see what 2021 brings…………….

Air Jaws The WASP

Get to Know Colossus

Colossus – Is he the holy grail of sharks? Few things in nature are as awe-inspiring as a fully mature male Great white shark at the peak of hunting prowess. He was first observed in 2011 when he flew over the top of Jeff Kurr who was riding on the Seal Sled. A 3,000-pound shark flying through the air gets your attention. We’d seen Colossus hanging around Seal Island in False Bay for several weeks, killing seals, munching the film crew cameras. Now many of the sharks at Seal Island are regulars. They come back at the same time every year to engage in hunting activities. When Chris and Monique Fallows told Jeff that Colossus did not return to Seal Island the following season, he started asking questions. Why would this dominant shark leave behind a banquet at Seal Island?
The Air Jaws team spent two years looking for him. The mission was simply to re-sight this animal. But finding a single shark, in a region populated by about 1,000 white sharks isn’t easy. They relied on existing data of white shark migrations and their instincts and a single clue that Colossus had left us: a deformed dorsal fin. Colossus has a dorsal like no other shark, so we knew if we spotted that dorsal, even for a second, we could positively ID this fish. Colossus is around 14 to 15 feet and 3,000 pounds He just seems really, really big when he’s flying over the top of you.

Get to Know Chris Fallows

Chris grew up going to game reserves in Africa and developed a love of wildlife from this. When he moved to the coast his love of the sea grew stronger and he started a tag-and-release program with the local fishermen, helping free sharks from nets. One day he caught a young Great White shark, and this sparked a fascination for him for Great Whites. In 1991, a research group offered him a volunteer position working with Great White sharks. In 1996, he started his own company African Shark Eco Charters. In 2000, along with his wife Monique, we split away from this company and formed Apex Shark Expeditions which focuses on the entire spectrum of sharks and wildlife in the area. In 1996 he discovered the unique breaching behaviour of sharks at Seal Island and went on to photographically document it.

In the “Air Jaws” specials, he goes to great extremes to capture footage of sharks breaching. The craziest thing he has done to get the right shot is being towed behind a vessel on a seal sled to get a seal’s view of what it is like to be hunted by a Great White. Chris Fallows has recorded more than 13,000 predatory events, so had a good idea of whether the sled would get hit.
The popularity of the “Air Jaws” series means Chris has practically become the human face of Discovery’s Shark Week.

Get to Know Dickie Chivell

Dickie Chivell doesn’t have a lot of fear when it comes to sharks. But he did have a theory, which is why he ended up on a flimsy-looking homemade decoy while multiple Great white sharks swam under him. His appearance on Shark Week from 2014-2020 has been a life changing experience and especially working with the likes of Chris Fallows, Jeff Kurr and Andy Brandy Casagrande. He is a true ambassador of marine conservation.
Chivell, a young man who grew up in the fishing town of Gansbaai, South Africa, suspected that male Great white sharks could be lured to the surface by a female decoy. So he built a 14-foot contraption, named Parthenope after a siren from Greek mythology, which mimicked the movement of a female Great white shark. Dickiel convinced Jeff Kurr and Chris Fallows, who were working on a documentary for “Shark Week,” to let him test his theory out on camera. As Chivell pilots the decoy across the water surface, the Great white sharks grow in numbers and start to show aggressive behaviour. Dickie was removed from the contraption and thereafter it was investigated by the sharks. This was the start of many hair-raising moments on Shark Week with Dickie Chivell.
shark cage diving Cape Town

The First Choice Shark Cage Diving Operator For:

national-geo-logo-color
discovery-logo-color
animal-planet-logo-color
BBC-logo-color
New Level 4 Restrictions.

The new level 4 restrictions announced by the government of South Africa have not affected our shark tours and cage diving operations.

We are operating.

Book with confidence – if your day trip bookings are affected due to COVID 19 restrictions, free cancellation applies.

Looking forward to hosting you.