白鯊事實

每條鯊魚都有超過 500 種物種,在自己的生態位中都是大師。 鯊魚已經存在了 400 億多年,在世界海洋中保持平衡。 四億年,想想那段時間……

鯊魚之前就存在,並且早在恐龍、各種大規模滅絕和全球冰河時代之前就已經存在了。 然而具有諷刺意味的是,在短短的 30 年裡,與 400 億年相比,一納秒,我們作為現代人類已經將許多物種推向了滅絕的邊緣。

在 Apex Shark Expeditions 期間,我們在福爾斯灣與大白鯊合作了短短 25 年,我們不僅從生物學或科學基礎上了解了這些壯觀的超級掠食者。 我們已經開始了解他們的個性,並看到您如何在一個物種中獲得專家。

我們了解到,大白鯊的主要獵物是較小的鯊魚種類,而且在不到半年的時間裡,它們以海豹為食。 當大白鯊不在春季、夏季和初秋的海豹棲息地周圍時,它們會在礁石和沙地的近海中最有可能找到這些較小的鯊魚物種。 我們了解到,某些人每年都會與其他同類一起返回,並且顯然他們之間存在某種描述的家庭或社會聯繫。 個別鯊魚更喜歡在島嶼周圍的狩獵區域,而較大的鯊魚似乎更喜歡在離島嶼稍遠的地方狩獵,從而避免競爭,毫不奇怪,這些較大的鯊魚的成功率略高於較小的鯊魚將其猛擊到靠近島嶼的地方。小島。

簡而言之,我們必須密切了解這些動物,同時了解它們是頂級捕食者的環境。 在關係的複雜性以及每個物種對另一個物種的重要性方面,我們所學到的令人震驚。
從最初只是一家鯊魚潛水和觀賞公司,我們很快變成了一個以生態系統為導向的企業,我們努力向我們的客人展示的不僅僅是鯊魚,還有構成鯊魚世界一部分的所有其他物種。 雖然構成這個生態系統一部分的動物可能是地球上最頑強的動物之一,但總的來說,它們發現自己所處的生態系統非常脆弱。

那麼是什麼讓鯊魚如此成功,我們可以做些什麼來確保這些極其重要的捕食者在未來出現呢?

你不知道的大白鯊事實

幾個世紀以來,大白鯊一直讓人類著迷。 在我們探索一些最有趣的地方時,直接與 Apex 一起潛水 大白鯊事實.

大白鯊(Carcharodon carcharias),也被稱為大白鯊、白鯊或“白指針”,是一種大鯖鯊,通常可以在所有主要海洋的溫帶水域中找到。 Great Whites 得名是因為它們的體型很大,腹部和下體呈白色。 上身呈板岩灰色,與海底融為一體。 這是一個雄偉而真正令人敬畏的捕食者的名副其實的名字。 澳大利亞捕鯨者如此命名白指針,因為這些鯊魚經常看到它們在鯨魚屍體的鯨脂上大吃大喝。 在這種情況下,通常很少見的白色下腹部如此突出,以至於它激發了“White Pointer”這個名字。 大白魚是流線型的魚雷形魚,具有強大的等瓣狀尾巴,可以以每小時 25 英里的速度推動它們穿過水面。 除了提供推力外,尾部龍骨(尾巴)還起到穩定器的作用。

大白鯊是林奈最初在其具有里程碑意義的 1758 年第 10 版自然系統(其第一個科學名稱 Squalus carcharias)中描述的眾多物種之一。 後來,安德魯·史密斯爵士在 1833 年和 1873 年給它起了 Carcharodon 作為它的通用名稱。

發現於世界各地涼爽的沿海溫帶水域,沒有關於大白鯊種群的可靠數據。 但估計表明,直到最近才被認為是該物種最高聚集區的南非種群數量可能不到 500。然而,科學家們一致認為,由於過度捕撈其主要獵物物種,意外捕獲,它們的數量正在急劇減少刺網和其他漁業,以及氣候變化等因素。 它們被歸類為 CITES 下的脆弱物種。 據《衛報》(2010 年)報導,作為海洋生物普查的一部分,最近完成的一項調查發現,野外只剩下大約 3,500 隻大白鯊——與保護主義者認為剩下的老虎數量相同。

大白鯊的身體有五個鰓裂,沒有鰭刺,一個臀鰭和三個主鰭。 背鰭位於背部上方,兩側有兩個胸鰭。

大白鯊是地球上最大的掠食性魚類。 大白母鯊以其體型而著稱。 個體長到 6.1 m(20 英尺),甚至有人建議長到 7 米以上。 然而,後者將是例外。
據說大白鯊的體重在成熟時達到 1,905 –2,268 公斤(4,200 –5,000 磅)或更多。
個體長到 6.1 米(20 英尺),甚至有人建議長到 7 米以上。
個體長到 6.1 m(20 英尺),甚至有人建議長到 7 米以上。 成年後,大白鯊的生長速度會減慢,但不會停止。

雖然這些測量結果尚未得到證實,但據估計現代捕獲的一些大白鯊長度超過 7m(23 英尺),但這些說法受到了一些批評。 然而,乙腦 蘭德爾認為,大白鯊的長度可能超過了 6.1m(20 英尺)。 1 年 1987 月 XNUMX 日,澳大利亞捕獲了一條大白鯊。 這條鯊魚被 Peter Resiley 估計超過 6.9m(23ft)長,並被指定為 KANGA。[Alfredo Cutajar 於 16 年 1987 月 XNUMX 日在馬耳他捕獲了另一條大白鯊。 這條鯊魚也被約翰·阿貝拉估計為大約 7.13m(23.4 英尺)長,並被指定為馬耳他。 然而,Cappo 受到批評,因為他使用了 JE 提出的鯊魚大小估計方法 Randall 建議 KAGA 標本長 5.8-6.4m(19-21 英尺)。 以類似的方式,IK Fergusson 還使用了 JE 提出的鯊魚大小估計方法 Randall 建議馬耳他標本長 5.3-5.7m(17-19 英尺)。 然而,照片證據表明,這些標本比通過蘭德爾方法得出的尺寸估計要大。 因此,一組科學家——HF 莫萊特,總經理 Cailliet, 美聯社 克里姆利,DA 艾伯特,廣告 Testi 和 LJV Compagno——在 1996 年審查了 KANGA 和 MALTA 標本的案例,通過對這些鯊魚的遺骸進行全面的形態測量分析和重新檢查照片證據以試圖驗證原始尺寸估計及其結果是一致的,以解決爭端跟他們。 調查結果表明,P.Resiley 和 J.Abela 的估計是合理的,不能排除。]一隻特別大的雌性大白鯊,綽號“深藍”,估計身高 6.1m(20 英尺),是在瓜達盧佩島拍攝期間拍攝的2014 年鯊魚週“大白鯊反擊戰”的劇集。 11 年 2015 月 2019 日,在 Mauricio 在 Facebook 上發布的一段病毒視頻中,她與研究員 Mauricio Hoyas Pallida 互動時,深藍也獲得了極大的關注。 深藍後來於 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月在瓦胡島附近撿拾抹香鯨屍體時被看到,於是她被拍到在潛水員旁邊游泳。 據說,在 7 年代初期,曾經在包括南非福斯灣在內的地區巡邏的一隻特別臭名昭著的大白鯊,據說其體長超過 23m(1980 英尺)。 這條鯊魚在當地被稱為“潛艇”,傳說中享有盛譽,據說是有根據的。 儘管有傳言稱這條鯊魚的體型被誇大了或完全不存在,但當時年輕的 Craig Anthony Ferreira、南非著名的鯊魚專家和他的父親的目擊證詞表明,這是一種異常大的動物,具有相當大的體型和力量(儘管它仍然不確定這條鯊魚有多大,因為它每次被鉤住都逃脫了捕獲)。

大白鯊有成排的牙齒。 前兩排牙齒用於抓取和切割它們所吃的獵物。 由於大型哺乳動物獵物很難穿過,因此在進食時可能會折斷很多牙齒。 這些牙齒對餵食至關重要,當一顆牙齒折斷時,需要立即更換。 這就是為什麼大白鯊有多排牙齒的原因,因為最後一排的其他牙齒能夠在門牙斷裂、磨損或脫落時替換它們。

大白鯊有大約兩百五十顆牙齒,排列成五排。 

似乎是一個標準的問題,但是當您考慮到我們對大白鯊的了解程度有多少時,例如它們的產地,您就會意識到有關鯊魚的問題沒有簡單的答案。 為了告訴你白鯊一生有多少顆牙齒,我們需要做一個計算:牙齒脫落率X鯊魚的平均壽命=一生有多少顆牙齒。 他們一生可能損失多達 20 000 人。 這並不意味著他們都失去了一些人可能會失去的數額。

大多數鯊魚是卵胎生的,包括大白鯊。 

卵胎生鯊魚的卵在母親體內發育。 卵在體內受精,發育中的鯊魚由蛋黃滋養。 幼崽在輸卵管內孵化,並繼續從仍然附著在身體上的蛋黃的剩餘部分以及分泌到輸卵管的液體中獲取營養。 某些種類的鯊魚是同類相食的,以輸卵管內的其他卵和胚胎為食。 這些幼崽中只有少數能存活到出生。 年輕人出生後就活了,並且功能齊全。

人們認為,大白鯊和鋸齒鯊一樣,會進行所謂的“自食”,也稱為“子宮間自相殘殺”,其中發育中最強壯和最兇猛的胚胎會吃掉未受精的卵(潛在的兄弟姐妹)以獲取營養。

鯊魚天生就有牙齒。 與人類不同,幼鯊進入世界時會帶著一整套牙齒。 這使他們很容易養活自己,因為沒有父母的照顧。 他們基本上是天生的,從一開始就準備好成為完美的小掠食者幼崽。

嬰兒大白鯊的牙齒比成人窄得多,更適合以較小的鯊魚和魚類為食,當它們真的很年輕時,它們的牙齒實際上是三尖的,這意味著在每顆牙齒的基部兩側都有兩個尖銳的小點。

大白鯊幼崽出生後,長約 5 英尺(1.3 至 1.5 米),重約 77 磅(35 公斤)。 

根據 2014 年的一項研究,大白鯊的壽命長達 70 年或更長,遠高於之前的估計,使其成為目前已知壽命最長的軟骨魚類之一。

大白鯊生活在水溫在 12 至 24 °C(54 至 75 °F)之間的幾乎所有沿海和近海水域,在美國(東北和加利福尼亞)、南非、日本、大洋洲、智利的濃度更高和地中海,包括馬爾馬拉海和博斯普魯斯海峽。 . 在公海,大白鯊已被記錄在 3,900 英尺處。 這些發現挑戰了大白鯊是沿海物種的傳統觀念。

大白鯊是一種浮游魚類,主要在豐富的獵物(如海狗)中觀察到(大頭目 ssp.)、海獅、鯨類、其他鯊魚和大型硬骨魚類

2007 年的一項研究使用鯊魚頭骨的 CT 掃描和計算機模型來測量鯊魚的最大咬合力。 該研究揭示了它的頭骨適應處理和解決有關其進食行為的競爭理論的力量和行為。 2008 年,由 Stephen Wroe 領導的一組科學家進行了一項實驗,以確定大白鯊的下顎力量,結果表明,一個重 3,324 公斤(7,328 磅)的樣本可以產生 18,216 牛頓(4,095 磅)的咬合力。

大白鯊沒有黑色珠子般的殺手眼睛。 他們實際上有美麗的藍眼睛。 白鯊的虹膜不是黑色的; 這是一種非常深的藍色。

在沒有籠子的情況下與大白鯊一起在全球範圍內潛水並不是商業化的:由於所涉及的風險,地球上沒有旅行社為這項活動做廣告。 

目前尚不清楚從 1970 年代到現在,大白鯊捕撈量的同時增加在多大程度上導致了大白鯊種群的下降。 沒有準確的全球人口數字,但大白鯊現在被認為是脆弱的。 鯊魚在出生和性成熟之間有很長的間隔,這使得種群恢復和增長變得困難。

不幸的是,還沒有人測量過一隻白鯊的游泳速度。 對白鯊攻擊加利福尼亞州南法拉隆群島附近裝有攝像機的衝浪板的分析顯示了這種動物的攻擊速度。 鯊魚科學家目前的共識是,大白鯊的最高游泳速度至少為每小時 25 英里(40 公里)。 我自己粗略的、粗略的計算——使用多種方法——表明白鯊可能會達到每小時 35 英里(56 公里)或更高的爆發速度。 這可能看起來不是很快,但它比最優秀的奧林匹克游泳運動員快七倍,可能至少比你我能做到的快十倍。

大白鯊通常被認為是海洋中最可怕的掠食者。

但即使是這些鯊魚也面臨著它們非常清楚的威脅。 一項新的研究發現,當大白鯊在獵場附近遇到虎鯨或逆戟鯨時,它們會逃離並在中短期內(4 到 8 週或更長時間)遠離。 虎鯨是唯一已知的捕殺大白鯊的物種。

大白鯊通過使用逆流熱交換系統來提高體溫,重疊的動脈統稱為米拉貝爾網。 它是由彼此非常靠近的動脈和靜脈組成的複合體。 Rete Mirabelle 利用網內的逆流血流作為逆流交換器。 Rete Mirabelle 也被稱為奇蹟網絡。

在世界海洋中發現的大約五百種鯊魚中,只有大約兩打被稱為“強制公羊通風機”。 這意味著它們需要不斷地迫使水流過它們的鰓才能呼吸,通常是通過快速游泳或尋找快速移動的水流來保持。這些鯊魚是海洋中速度最快、最強大的捕食者之一。 大白鯊和灰鯖鯊都是公羊呼吸機。

有趣的是,雖然幼鯊被稱為幼鯊,但鯊魚並沒有針對不同性別的特定名稱。 

這一切都在大白鯊的外部解剖結構中。 雄性大白鯊具有改良的骨盆鰭,稱為扣鰭,用於交配。 釦子就像一對捲起的鰭,在它們的身體下方朝向後方。 女性沒有這些扣環。

此外,女性往往比男性大,儘管這種差異可能並不總是那麼明顯。 雌性比雄性大的原因是因為它們在懷孕時需要有能力攜帶 2-10 隻幼崽。 這些幼崽在足月時可以長到 1.5 米。 這需要很大的空間!

所有鯊魚都進行體內受精。 雄性鯊魚有成對的生殖器官,稱為扣環,而雌性鯊魚有一個稱為泄殖腔的開口。 在交配過程中,雄性鯊魚通常會咬住雌性鯊魚以保持自己的穩定。 這可能是一個艱難的過程,因為兩隻鯊魚都經常受傷。

雄性大白鯊有成對的生殖器官,稱為扣環,雌性鯊魚有一個稱為泄殖腔的開口。 當將扣環插入泄殖腔並將精子注入雌性時,就會發生受精。 當交配開始時,雄性鯊魚會騎上雌性鯊魚,在旁邊或下面游泳。

目前還沒有看到大白鯊交配的情況。

鯊魚籠潛水員的首選:

國家地理標誌顏色
發現標誌顏色
動物星球標誌顏色
BBC 標誌色

Great White Shark Facts

With over 500 species each shark is a master in its own niche. Sharks have been around for more than 400 million years maintaining balance in the world’s oceans. 400 million years, think about that length of time……..

Sharks were around before, and have long since outlived dinosaurs, various mass extinctions, and global ice ages. The irony however is that in just 30 year, a nano second when compared to 400 million years, we as modern day humans have pushed many species to the brink of extinction.

During Apex Shark Expeditions short 25 years of working with Great white sharks in False Bay we have come to know these magnificent super predators on more than just a biological or scientific basis. We have come to know their individual personalities and have seen how within a species you get specialists.

We have learnt that smaller species of sharks form the bulk of the Great whites prey and that for less than half of the year they feed to any extent on seals. When the great whites are not around the seal colonies which are during the spring, summer and early autumn months, they are inshore over reef and sandy areas where they are most likely to find these smaller shark species. We have learnt that certain individuals return with others of their kind each year and clearly there is either a family or social bond between them of some description. Individual sharks have preferred hunting areas around the island and bigger sharks seem to prefer to hunt a little bit away from the island, thereby avoiding competition, not surprisingly the success rate of these larger sharks is slightly higher than the smaller ones slugging it out closer to the island.

In a nutshell we have got to know these animals intimately and at the same time got to know the environment in which they are apex predators. What we have learnt has been nothing short of astounding in terms of the complexity of the relationships and how each species is vital to another.
From initially being just a shark diving and viewing company we quickly became an eco-system orientated operation whereby we have endeavoured to show our guests not just the sharks but all as many of the other species that form part of the sharks world. Whilst the animals that form part of this eco system may be amongst the toughest on the planet, as a whole the eco systems they find themselves in are surprisingly fragile.

So what makes sharks so successful and what can we do to make sure that these vitally important predators are around in the future?

Great White shark facts you didn't know

The Great White has fascinated humans for centuries. Dive right in with Apex as we explore some of the most interesting Great White Sharks facts.

The Great white shark (Carcharodon carcharias), also known as the Great white, white shark or “white pointer”, is a species of the large mackerel shark which can be generally found in the temperate waters of all the major oceans. Great Whites get their name because they are great in size and have a clean white belly and underside. The upper body is slate-grey to blend in with the sea floor. It is a worthy name for a majestic and truly awesome predator. White Pointers were so named by Australian whalers as these sharks were often seen feeding belly up as they gorged on the blubber of whale carcasses. The normally, rarely seen white underbelly was in this case so prominent that it inspired the name “White Pointer”. Great Whites are streamlined, torpedo-shaped fish with powerful equally lobed shaped tails that can propel them through the water at speeds of up to 25 miles per hour. Aside from giving thrust, the caudal keel(tail) acts as a stabilizer.

The Great white shark was one of the many species originally described by Linnaeus in the landmark 1758 10th edition of his Systema Naturae, its first scientific name, Squalus carcharias. Later, Sir Andrew Smith gave it Carcharodon as its generic name in 1833, and also in 1873.

Found in cool, coastal temperate waters throughout the world, there is no reliable data on the Great white’s population. But estimates suggest that populations in South Africa which up until recently was thought to be the species’ highest aggregation area may number less than 500. However, scientists agree that their numbers are decreasing precipitously due to overfishing of their primary prey species, accidental catching in gill nets and other fisheries, as well as climate change among other factors. They are classed a vulnerable species under CITES. According to the Guardian (2010), a recent survey completed as a part of the Census for Marine Life, has found that there are only some 3,500 individual Great Whites left in the wild–around the same number of tigers that conservationists believe are left.

The Great White Sharks body is equipped with five gill slits, no fin spines, an anal fin and three main fins. The dorsal fin is located on top of its back and two pectoral fins are located on its sides.

Great whites are the largest predatory fish on Earth. The Great white female shark is notable for her size. With individuals growing to 6.1 m (20 feet) in length and have even been suggested to grow to over 7 meter. However, the latter would be exceptional.
A Great White Shark weight is said to reach 1,905 –2,268 kg (4,200 –5,000 lb) or more in weight at maturity.
Individuals grow to 6.1 meter(20 feett) in length and have even been suggested to grow to over 7 meters.
Individuals grow to 6.1 m (20 feet) in length and have even been suggested to grow to over 7 meters. After reaching maturity, a Great White shark growth slows —but it doesn’t stop.

While these measurements have not been confirmed, some Great white sharks caught in modern times have been estimated to be more than 7m (23ft) long, but these claims have received some criticism. However, J.E. Randall believed that Great white shark may have exceeded 6.1m (20ft) in length. A Great white shark was captured in Australia on 1 April 1987. This shark was estimated to be more than 6.9m (23ft) long by Peter Resiley and has been designated as KANGA.[Another Great white shark was caught in Malta by Alfredo Cutajar on 16 April 1987. This shark was also estimated to be around 7.13m (23.4ft) long by John Abela and has been designated as MALTA. However, Cappo drew criticism because he used shark size estimation methods proposed by J.E. Randall to suggest that the KANGA specimen was 5.8–6.4m (19–21ft) long. In a similar fashion, I.K. Fergusson also used shark size estimation methods proposed by J.E. Randall to suggest that the MALTA specimen was 5.3–5.7m (17–19ft) long. However, photographic evidence suggested that these specimens were larger than the size estimations yielded through Randall’s methods. Thus, a team of scientists—H.F. Mollet, G.M. Cailliet, A.P. Klimley, D.A. Ebert, A.D. Testi, and L.J.V. Compagno—reviewed the cases of the KANGA and MALTA specimens in 1996 to resolve the dispute by conducting a comprehensive morphometric analysis of the remains of these sharks and re-examination of photographic evidence in an attempt to validate the original size estimations and their findings were consistent with them. The findings indicated that estimations by P.Resiley and J.Abela are reasonable and could not be ruled out.]A particularly large female Great white nicknamed “DeepBlue”, estimated measuring at 6.1m (20ft) was filmed off Guadalupe during shooting for the 2014 episode of Shark Week “Jaws Strikes Back”. Deep Blue would also later gain significant attention when she was filmed interacting with researcher Mauricio Hoyas Pallida in a viral video that Mauricio posted on Facebook on 11 June 2015.Deep Blue was later seen off Oahu in January 2019 while scavenging a sperm whale carcass, whereupon she was filmed swimming beside divers. A particularly infamous great white shark, supposedly of record proportions, once patrolled the area that comprises False Bay, South Africa, was said to be well over 7m (23ft) during the early 1980s. This shark, known locally as the “Submarine”, had a legendary reputation that was supposedly well founded. Though rumours have stated this shark was exaggerated in size or non-existent altogether, witness accounts by the then young Craig Anthony Ferreira, a notable shark expert in South Africa, and his father indicate an unusually large animal of considerable size and power (though it remains uncertain just how massive the shark was as it escaped capture each time it was hooked). Ferreira describes the four encounters with the giant shark he participated in with great detail in his book “Great White Sharks on Their Best Behaviour’

Great white sharks have rows of teeth. The first two rows of the teeth are used for grabbing and cutting the prey they eat. Since large mammalian prey can be pretty tough to get through, a lot of teeth can be broken whilst eating. These teeth are vital to feeding and when one is broken it needs to be replaced immediately. This is why a Great white shark has multiple rows of teeth as the other teeth in the last rows are able to replace the front teeth as and when they are broken, worn down, or when they fall out.

Great white sharks have about two hundred and fifty teeth, arranged in five rows. 

Seems like a standard question, but when you consider how much we don’t know about Great white sharks, such as  where they give birth, you realise there are no easy answers where sharks are concerned. In order to tell you how many teeth a white shark has over its lifetime, we’ll need to do a calculation: Rate of tooth loss X average life span of the shark = how many teeth over a lifetime. They could lose up to 20 000 in a lifetime. It does not mean they all lose that amount just that some might.

Most sharks are ovoviviparous, including Great white sharks. 

Ovoviviparous sharks have eggs that develop within the mother’s body. The eggs are fertilized internally and the developing sharks are nourished by the egg yolks. The young hatch within the oviduct and continue to receive nourishment from the remainder of the egg yolk, still attached to their body, as well as from fluids secreted into the oviduct. Some species of shark are cannibalistic, feeding on other eggs and embryos within the oviduct. Only a small number of these pups survive until birth. The young are then born live, and are fully functional.

It is believed that Great white sharks, like ragged tooth sharks, practise what is known as oophagy also known as inter-uterine cannibalism where the strongest and fiercest developing embryos eat the unfertilized eggs (potential siblings) for nourishment.

Sharks are born with teeth. Unlike humans, shark pups enter the world sporting a full set of teeth. This makes it easy for them to feed and fend for themselves, since there is no parental care. They are essentially born and right from their first moments are ready to go as perfect little predator pups.

A baby Great white sharks tooth is a lot narrower than an adult and is more suited to feeding on smaller sharks and fish and when they are really young their teeth are actually tri-cusped meaning that on either side of the base of each tooth there are two sharp little points.

When a Great white shark pup is born it will measure around 5 feet (1.3 to 1.5 meters) and weigh about 77 pounds (35 kilograms). 

According to a 2014 study, the Great white sharks lifespan is as long as 70 years or more, well above previous estimates, making it one of the longest lived cartilaginous fishes currently known.

Great white sharks live in almost all coastal and offshore waters which have water temperature between 12 and 24 °C (54 and 75 °F), with greater concentrations in the US (North East and California), South Africa, Japan, Oceania, Chile and the Mediterranean including the Sea of Marmara and Bosporus. . In the open ocean, the Great white shark has been recorded at 3,900 feet. These findings challenge the traditional notion that the Great white is a coastal species.

The great white is an epipelagic fish, observed mostly in the presence of rich game, such as fur seals (Arctocephalus ssp.), sea lions, cetaceans, other sharks, and large bony fish species

A 2007 study used CT scans of a shark’s skull and computer models to measure the shark’s maximum bite force. The study reveals the forces and behaviours its skull is adapted to handle and resolves competing theories about its feeding behaviour. In 2008, a team of scientists led by Stephen Wroe conducted an experiment to determine the Great white shark jaw power and findings indicated that a specimen massing 3,324 kg (7,328 lb) could exert a bite force of 18,216 newtons (4,095 lb).

Great White Sharks do not have black, beady killer eyes. They actually have beautiful blue eyes. The iris of a white shark is not black; it’s a very dark blue.

Globally diving with Great white sharks without a cage is not done commercially: there are no tour operators on the planet who advertise this activity due to the risks involved. 

It is unclear how much of a concurrent increase in fishing for Great white sharks has caused the decline of Great white shark populations from the 1970s to the present. No accurate global population numbers are available, but the Great white shark is now considered vulnerable. Sharks have a long interval between birth and sexual maturity making population recovery and growth difficult.

Unfortunately, no one has yet measured the swimming speed of a White Shark going flat-out. An analysis of White Sharks attacking a video camera-equipped surfboard off the South Farallon Islands, California, gave some indication of this animal’s attack speed. Current consensus among shark scientists is that the top swimming speed of the Great white is at least 25 miles (40 kilometres) per hour. My own rough, back-of-the-envelope-type calculations — using several methods — suggest that the White shark may achieve burst speeds of 35 miles (56 kilometres) per hour or more. That may not seem very speedy, but it’s seven times faster than the finest Olympic swimmer and probably at least ten times faster than you or I could manage.

Great white sharks are often thought of as the most fearsome predators in the ocean.

But even these sharks face threats that they are well aware of. A new study found that when Great white sharks have encountered killer whales, or orca near their hunting grounds, they’ve fled and stayed away for a short to medium term duration (4 to 8 weeks and longer). Killer whales are the only known species that hunt Great white sharks.

Great white sharks increase their body temperature by using a counter current heat exchange system, with overlapping arteries collectively known as the rete Mirabelle. It is a complex of arteries and veins lying very close to each other. The rete Mirabelle utilizes counter current blood flow within the net to act as a counter current exchanger. The rete Mirabelle is also known as the miraculous network.

Of the five hundred or so shark species found in the world’s oceans, only about two dozen are known as “obligate ram ventilators”,. This means they need to constantly force water across their gills in order to breathe, typically by swimming at speed or finding a fast moving current to remain in. These sharks are among the fastest, most formidable predators of the sea. The Great white shark and Mako shark are both obligate ram ventilators.

Sharks interestingly do not have a specific name for the different sexes although baby sharks are called pups. 

It’s all in the Great White shark’s external anatomy. Male Great white sharks have modified pelvic fins called claspers which are used for mating. The claspers are like a pair of roll-up fins under their body towards the rear. Females do not have these claspers.

In addition, females tend to be larger than males, although this difference may not always be so obvious. The reason females are larger than males is because they need to have the capacity to carry 2 – 10 pups when pregnant. These pups can be as large as 1.5 meter at full term. That’s a lot of space that is required!

All sharks practice internal fertilization. Male sharks have paired reproductive organs called claspers, and female sharks have an opening called a cloaca. Often the male shark will bite onto the female to hold themselves steady during mating. This can be a difficult process with both sharks often ending up with wounds.

Male Great White sharks have paired reproductive organs called claspers, and female sharks have an opening called a cloaca. Fertilization occurs when a clasper is inserted into the cloaca and sperm is injected into the female. When mating begins, a male shark will mount a female shark, either swimming beside or underneath.

There has yet to be a sighting of Great White Sharks mating.

The First Choice Shark Cage Diving Operator For:

national-geo-logo-color
discovery-logo-color
animal-planet-logo-color
BBC-logo-color
New Level 1 Restrictions.

The new level 1 restrictions announced by the government of South Africa is good news.

We are operating daily trips.

Book with confidence – if your day trip bookings are affected due to COVID 19 restrictions, free cancellation applies.

Looking forward to hosting you.