鲨鱼笼潜水南非

 

关于新西兰鲨鱼弗雷德的鲨鱼周纪录片

 

XNUMX 月初,克里斯和我非常荣幸地参与了探索频道即将举行的鲨鱼周秀的拍摄工作。

弗雷德的传说 将于今年XNUMX月播出!

在这部纪录片中,你会发现我们所知道的关于传奇的一切 鲨鱼弗雷德. 这是我们第四次访问新西兰南岛的最南端,一个叫斯图尔特岛的地方。 更具体地说,一群大白鲨经常光顾斯图尔特岛附近一个名为爱德华兹岛的岛屿,这是一个非常非常鲨鱼的地方!

考虑到状态 大白鲨 在南非现在这么穷,澳大利亚也开始有很多看不到鲨鱼的时期,新西兰和墨西哥附近的瓜达卢佩岛现在是世界上看大白鲨的最佳地点。

我知道我一直非常感激我曾经目击过的任何鲨鱼,但现在比以往任何时候都更能再次与大白鲨共度时光,感觉就像是一份特殊的礼物。

我们一直非常幸运在爱德华兹岛看到大白鲨,这一次也不例外。

 

在我们到达的第一个下午,我们坐了将近 4 个小时没有目击,所以我承认有点担心……但是第二天早上短短 20 分钟的等待给我们带来了我们的第一条大白鲨,从那时起它几乎不停地接下来的 10 天。

您在这里不会看到不同个体鲨鱼的高周转率,但这些新西兰鲨鱼肯定不会害羞地来到船上和鲨鱼笼。 它们也不会很兴奋,大多数时候它们只是好奇地绕着笼子转圈。 特别是一只雌性鲨鱼在 10 天里是一条普通鲨鱼,她非常放松。 身长3.8米,这个美丽的雌性会从容地游到船尾,把头伸出水面,有点像多年前海豹岛拉斯塔的行为。

看到这种行为非常罕见,我记得她所做的每一刻都被记录下来,并试图将那一幕的记忆烧入我的大脑。 对于Apex Predator,她出奇的温柔。

关于新西兰大白鲨的另一件奇怪的事情是,它们似乎对彼此靠近感到异常自在。

通常大白鲨不会容忍彼此非常接近,大小等级在大白鲨的统治地位中起着重要作用。 在这里,在许多场合和整个旅程中,规则似乎都放宽了,

 

大白鲨会舒适地并排游泳,就好像它们在享受彼此的陪伴一样。 一个非常有趣的景象!

熟悉我的人都知道,当我看到一条冲破的大白鲨时,我往往会大声尖叫! 我可以告诉你,这完全是无意的,无论我看过多少次,我都无法控制自己。 在爱德华兹岛附近一个多云多风的下午,情况也没有什么不同。

我恰巧在准确的时间看到了准确的地点,因为一条 3 米长的中型鲨鱼在距船约 100 米处完全突破。

没有封印,这似乎是一个完全自然的事件。 正如经常发生的那样,我是唯一一个看到它的人,当听到我完全不受约束和经典的鲨鱼突破尖叫时,船上的其余部分毫无疑问他们错过了什么!

新西兰体验的最后一个亮点发生在我们回家的路上。 风一定很适合数十只信天翁在船边飞翔,他们这样做是为了荣耀! 很快,我们就被众多信天翁物种尾随,包括白顶信天翁、萨尔文信天翁、布勒信天翁和一只孤独的流浪信天翁。 在如此近的地方看到这些壮观的鸟类真是太荣幸了……

感谢新西兰再次与您令人难以置信的特殊野生动物一起获得真正难忘的体验。

分享这篇文章

相关博客

虎滩
旅行报告

南部非洲的鲨鱼,2016

现在是第十四年,2016 年南部非洲鲨鱼探险队再次展示了各种鲨鱼物种、海洋大型动物群和令人兴奋的

西开普鲨鱼笼潜水
活动

世界上最好的鲨鱼潜水点

世界上 4 大鲨鱼潜水点 大多数人都有一个遗愿清单。 我们一生中想做的事情的清单。

跳闸状态

明天

周二
27 June 2023

下次旅行 28 月 XNUMX 日
11h45

*行程状态每天 16:00 SAST 更新

Great white sharks New Zealand

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

A Shark Week documentary on Fred the shark in New Zealand.

In early March Chris & I were extremely privileged to be part of filming for an upcoming Shark Week Show for Discovery Channel.

The Legend of Fred will be aired this coming August!

In this documentary, you’ll find out all we know about the legend of fred the shark. This was our fourth visit to the very south of The South Island in New Zealand, to a place called Stewart Island. More specifically, a population of Great white sharks frequents an island off Stewart Island called Edwards Island and this is a very, very sharky place!

Considering the status of Great white sharks in South Africa is now so poor, and Australia is also beginning to have a lot of periods of not seeing sharks, New Zealand and Isla Guadalupe off Mexico are now the best places in the world to see Great white sharks.

I know that I have always been very appreciative of any shark sighting I have ever had but now, more so than ever, the chance to spend time with Great white sharks again felt like an exceptional gift.

We have always been extremely lucky with the Great white shark sightings we have had at Edwards Island and this time round it was no different.

On arrival on our first afternoon we sat for nearly 4 hours with no sightings so I do admit being a tad concerned …….but the next morning a short 20 minute wait brought us our first Great white shark, and it was virtually nonstop from then onwards for the next 10 days.

You don’t tend to see a high turnover of different individual sharks here but these New Zealand sharks are sure not shy of coming up to the boat and the shark cages. They also don’t tend to be very revved up and most of the time they just curiously circle and make laps of the cages. One female shark in particular was a regular shark over the 10 days and she was extremely relaxed. At 3.8 meters in length, this gorgeous female would calmly swim up to the back of the boat and stIck her head out of the water, kind of like Rasta behaviour from Seal Island all those years ago.

It’s pretty rare for to see this kind of behaviour and I remember taking in every moment that she did it, and literally trying to burn the memory of that sight into my brain. She was surprisingly gentle for an Apex Predator.

Another curious thing about New Zealand Great white sharks is that they seem to be abnormally comfortable with being in close proximity to one another.

Normally Great white sharks don’t tolerate being very close to one another and size hierarchy play an important part in Great white shark dominance. The rules certainly seem to be relaxed here and on many occasions and throughout the trip,

GREAT WHITE SHARKS WOULD SWIM COMFORTABLY SIDE BY SIDE, ALMOST AS IF THEY WERE ENJOYING EACH OTHER’S COMPANY. AN AMAZINGLY INTERESTING SIGHT!

For those of you that know me well, you’ll know that I tend to scream very loudly when I see a breaching Great white shark! I can tell you that it is completely unintentional and I just can’t help myself, no matter how many times I have seen it. It was no different when on one very cloudy and windy afternoon off Edwards Island,

I HAPPENED TO LOOK IN THE EXACT SPOT AT THE EXACT RIGHT TIME AS A MEDIUM SIZED 3 METER SHARK DID A FULL AND COMPLETE BREACH ABOUT 100 METERS FROM THE BOAT.

There was no seal and it seemed to be a completely natural event. As can often happen, I was the only one to see it, with the rest of the boat being left with no doubt as to what they had missed upon hearing my completely uninhibited and classic shark breaching scream!

The final highlight from the New Zealand experience took place one late afternoon/early evening on our way back home. The wind must have been just perfect for dozens of albatross to fly alongside the boat, and they did so in all their glory! In no time at all we were trailed by a multitude of albatross species including White-capped, Salvin’s, Bullers and a lone Wandering Albatross. Such a privilege to see these magnificent birds at such close quarters…

Thank you New Zealand for yet again a truly unforgettable experience with your incredibly special wildlife.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Blogs

Great White Shark Fin
Shark Bytes

Shark Diving May 2018

 Seal Island, False Bay Cage Diving Yes, you may have already guessed but we have finally had the first Great white shark sightings of the

Blue Shark
Shark Conservation

Shark Hotspots and Overlapping Fishing Locations

A new study from an international team of scientists found commercial fishing vessels target shark hotspots, areas where sharks tend to congregate, in the North

Next trip departing Seal Island to dive with Sevengill sharks is this Saturday, 20 February.

There is limited space.

Book now to avoid disappointment.