鯊魚籠潛水 2019 年 XNUMX 月

鯊魚籠潛水 2019 年 XNUMX 月

七月無疑是一個有趣且富有成效的月份,充滿了許多高點。 隨著不斷變化的分佈 南非開普敦的大白鯊 水域,Apex 已將注意力集中在將我們的探險式團隊帶到我們知道當時正在進行最佳活動的地方,這已經帶來了巨大的回報。

在福斯灣的主場,我們同樣專注於為我們的客人提供最好的鯊魚體驗,通過當天的鯊魚物種供應和天氣條件。

因此,我們非常重視在開普敦冬季月份經常被忽視的各種其他令人驚嘆的野生動物奇觀,並將這些亮點引入我們的長期住宿套餐和一日遊中,並取得了巨大成功。

開普角旅行

開普角

XNUMX 月,我們在開普角附近的深海水域進行了六次以上的海上航行,開普角毗鄰非洲西南端好望角。 這裡的目標物種是 Mako 和 Blue Sharks。

大白鯊

早在 1999 年,Apex 就成為南非第一家開展這些遠洋鯊魚之旅的公司,從歷史上看,我們主要是在夏季這樣做。 今年,我們在冬季的幾個月裡進行了比以往任何時候都多的深海之旅,並且看到了奇妙的鯊魚。 使用高科技海面溫度圖表,再加上對水、風和環境條件的廣泛了解,我們的船長 Ryan Miller 和經驗豐富的 Apex 船員在與許多 Mako 鯊魚的每次旅行中都以 100% 的成功率發現了 Mako 和藍鯊長度超過 2.0m。 我們還看到了許多大型藍鯊,有些長度超過 2,0m。 在夏季,我們通常會看到較小的鯊魚,因此在冬季看到這些較大的動物是一個巨大的驚喜。

藍鯊

一個額外的好處是,雖然大多數大白鯊籠潛水旅行都是在能見度低於 2-3m 的水中進行的,但我們開普角的許多旅行的能見度都超過 20m(65 英尺),這使得壯觀的鯊魚潛水遭遇和拍照機會。

在我們的大部分開普角之旅中,我們遇到了數量眾多且種類繁多的遠洋鳥類,至少看到了 3-4 種信天翁。 在途中會遇到多達三種鯨魚,有時還會遇到兩種海豚。 座頭鯨目前正在南非東海岸遷徙,因此,我們在開普角附近的所有旅行中都看到了這些運動鯨魚,以及第一批到達交配和產犢的南露脊鯨。 臨近的冬季風暴通常會迎來美好的日子,在我們圍繞開普角有趣的大氣條件的許多旅行中,提供了壯觀的拍照機會。

鯨

從客人喜歡的東西來看,我們不得不說 Makos 和 Blues 的開普角鯊魚在水中的能見度很好,並且在船和籠子周圍有很好的互動,至少和非常特別的大白鯊一樣受歡迎。

遠征旅行

我們專業的 10 天捕食探險和每年這個時候的 7 月初 25 日套餐,重點不是鯊魚潛水,而是 Apex 近 XNUMX 年來專門從事的壯觀的破壞和捕食行為。

儘管大白鯊目擊事件不像前幾年那樣可預測,但靈活和提供小型個性化團體意味著我們可以靈活地選擇最佳鯊魚位置。 因此,在我們的突破和捕食旅行中,我們能夠通過監控最佳目擊和行為的位置,然後瞄準這些區域,看到壯觀的活動並獲得一些很棒的圖像。

任何大白鯊的違規行為都是驚人的,但有些顯然很突出,其中一個特定的違規行為確實非常特殊。 然而,可悲的是,當它跳出畫面 $^&& 時,克里斯設法從鯊魚身上砍下了尾巴! 🙁

大白鯊

在我們的捕食探險中,我們在開普角附近的 3 天天氣非常好,在這個小團體環境中,我們能夠專注於與 Mako 和 Blue Sharks 的攝影機會。 這 3 天都看到了這兩種物種,最大的灰鯖鯊有 2.5 米長,最大的藍鯊有 2 米多一點。 水的能見度範圍為 8 至 20 米。

在探險的剩餘時間裡,我們搬到了更遠的海岸,在那裡我們在誘餌上有不少於 13 次突破口和 20 次以上的掠奪性事件。 這裡的白鯊比我們多年來通常看到的假灣鯊要小,我們有時認為這些較小的鯊魚比年長和更大的鯊魚更加熱情和精力充沛。  

大白鯊

最值得注意的是,在掠食性事件中,鯊魚經常以非常大的幅度錯過海豹,並且掠食性突破通常有很長的時間。 在為期一周的時間裡,我們記錄了 24 次捕食事件,只有一次成功。 我知道這是一個很短的時間段,但與海豹島略低於 50% 的成功率相比,這是一個非常低的成功率。

我們的感覺是,這些鯊魚可能還只是在學習捕捉海豹的藝術,他們還沒有完全理解能量與獎勵的輸出。 無論實際情況如何,觀看起來都非常令人興奮和壯觀。

大白鯊

羅伯格半島,普利登堡灣

Chris 和我目前都在普利登堡灣進行大白鯊自然捕食研究,以與在福斯灣進行的 23 年 Apex 研究進行比較。

這項研究由邁阿密大學的兩名碩士生 Lacey Williams 和 Alex Anstett 進行,並由我們自己和世界知名科學家 Neil Hammerschlag 博士(同樣來自邁阿密大學)和 Enrico Gennari 博士監督。海洋研究。 我們還與當地鯊魚博物學家密切合作,最著名的是布魯斯·諾布爾 (Bruce Noble) 和正在盡最大努力保護這些動物的包機運營商。

該地區的懸崖提供了一個絕佳的機會,可以完全不受干擾地觀察海洋野生動物的行為,當我們與探險隊客人一起參觀時,我們確實看到了許多物種的許多自然互動,從獨特的角度來看,這些物種令人著迷這個場地提供。 對於那些觀看鯊魚週的人來說,一定要觀看最新的 Air Jaws 節目 Air Jaws Strikes Back,它主要關注從這個場地可以看到的令人難以置信的互動。

要進一步了解這個令人難以置信且相對較新的大白鯊位置,請查看 Chris 的 Air Jaws:Cliffhanger 博客。

Hammerschlag 博士剛剛開發了一個非常令人興奮的公民科學應用程序,您可以通過該應用程序為您在 Robberg 可能遇到的任何目擊事件做出積極貢獻。

該應用程序可以在這裡下載: https://www.livespotr.com/shark

海豹島的七鰓鯊

25 月 6 日,在左舷和右舷,獵鯊的逆戟鯨在海豹島造成了嚴重破壞。 我們看到的成群的七鰓鯊要么被獵殺,要么只是逃離了這個島,在接下來的 XNUMX 周里,什麼也看不見。

然而,在七月的最後一周,我很高興地報告我們開始看到他們的回歸! 萬歲!! 我們備受喜愛的 Sevengill 鯊魚在上週的所有旅行中都被看到,每次旅行有 2 到 4 條鯊魚。 進入八月,我們非常期待與這些高度互動的鯊魚合作。

您可能也對此感興趣 莫塞爾灣的大白鯊.

分享這個帖子

相關博客

Shark Cage Diving July 2019

Shark Cage Diving July 2019

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

July has certainly been an interesting and productive month filled with many highs. With the ever-shifting distribution of Great White Sharks in Cape Town, South African waters, Apex has focused its attention on taking our expedition-style groups to locations where we know the best activity is taking place, at the time and this has paid huge dividends.

On the home front in False Bay, we have likewise focused on providing the best possible shark experience for our guests by working with shark species availability and weather conditions on the day.

We have thus placed a lot of emphasis on focusing on a broad range of other amazing wildlife spectacles that are often overlooked during the Cape winter months and have introduced these highlights into both our long stay packages and one-day trips with great success.

Cape Point Trips

Cape Point

In July we did more than half a dozen offshore trips into the deep open ocean water off Cape Point, which lies adjacent to the South Western Tip of Africa, the Cape of Good Hope. The target species out here are Mako and Blue Sharks.

Great White shark

Apex was the first company in South Africa to run these pelagic shark tours way back in 1999 and historically we did so primarily in our summer months. This year we have done a lot more deep ocean tours in the winter months than ever before and have had fantastic shark sightings. Using high-tech sea surface temperature charts coupled with an extensive understanding of water, wind, and environmental conditions, our Captain Ryan Miller and the experienced Apex crew found Mako and blue sharks with a 100% success rate on every trip with many Mako sharks well over 2.0m in length. We also saw many large blue sharks, some being over 2,0m in length. During the summer months we are generally seeing smaller sharks, so it has been a tremendous surprise to see these larger animals during our winter months.

Blue shark

An added bonus was that whilst most great white shark cage diving trips take place in water with visibility of less than 2-3m, the visibility on many of our Cape Point trips was upwards of 20m (65ft) which made for spectacular shark diving encounters and photo opportunities.

On most of our Cape Point tours, we encountered outstanding numbers and diversity of pelagic birds with at least 3-4 species of albatross being seen. Excellent cetacean sightings were to be had, with up to three species of whales and sometimes two species of dolphin being encountered whilst en route. Humpback whales are currently migrating up the east coast of South Africa and as such, we saw these athletic whales on all of our trips off Cape Point as well as the first Southern Right whales arriving to mate and calve. Approaching winter storms often have beautiful days leading up to them and on many of our trips rounding Cape Point’s interesting atmospheric conditions delivered spectacular photo opportunities.

Whale

Judging by what guests enjoyed, we would have to say the Cape Point sharks of Makos and Blues in good water visibility and with great interactions around the boat and cage, were at least as popular as the very special great white sharks.

Expedition Trips

Our specialty 10-day Predation Expedition and early July 7 day package at this time of the year, focus not so much on shark diving, but rather on the spectacular breaching and predation behavior that Apex has specialized in for nearly 25 years.

Although Great White shark sightings have not been nearly as predictable as in previous years, being flexible and offering small personalized group sizes meant that we could be flexible in terms of choosing the best shark location. As such on both our breaching and predation trips we were able to see spectacular activity and get some great images by monitoring where the best sightings and behavior were being seen and then target these areas.

Any great white shark breach is amazing but some obviously stand out with one particular breach being truly exceptional. Sadly, however, Chris managed to chop the tail off the shark as it jumped right out of frame $^&&!! 🙁

Great White shark

On our Predation Expedition we started off with 3 very good days of the weather off Cape Point and in this small group environment, we were able to focus on photographic opportunities with Mako and Blue Sharks. Both species were seen on all 3 days, the largest Mako shark being 2.5 meters and the largest Blue shark being just over 2 meters. Water visibility ranged from 8 to 20 meters.

For the remainder of the expedition we relocated further up the coast where we had no less than 13 breaches on the decoy and upwards of 20 predatory events. The white sharks here are smaller than the False Bay sharks we have generally seen over the years and we sometimes think these smaller sharks are far more enthusiastic and energetic than their older and larger counterparts.  

Great White shark

Most notably on the predatory events, the sharks often miss the seals by very big margins, and the predatory breach often has massive air time. Over the week-long period, we recorded 24 events predations with just one event being successful. I know this is over a short time period but that is a very low success rate compared to the just under 50% success rate at Seal Island.

Our feeling is that perhaps these sharks are still just learning the fine art of catching seals, and they have not quite yet understood the output of energy versus reward. Whatever the actual situation, it was hugely exciting and spectacular to watch.

Great White shark

Robberg Peninsula, Plettenberg Bay

Both Chris & I are currently working on a Great White Shark natural predation study in Plettenberg Bay to compare to the 23-year Apex study in False Bay.

The study is being conducted by two Masters’ Students from The University of Miami, Lacey Williams and Alex Anstett, and is overseen by ourselves and world-renowned scientists Dr. Neil Hammerschlag, also of the University of Miami, and Dr. Enrico Gennari of Oceans Research. We also are working closely with local shark naturalists, most notably Bruce Noble and charter operators who are doing their best to protect these animals.

The cliffs in this area offer an amazing chance to observe marine wildlife behavior in a completely undisturbed way and when we visited with our expedition guests we did see many natural interactions by a multitude of species that were fascinating to watch from the unique point of view that this venue offers. For those of you who watch Shark Week be sure to watch the latest Air Jaws show, Air Jaws Strikes Back, which is primarily focused on the incredible interactions that can be seen from this venue.

To read further about this incredible and relatively new great white shark location, please have a look at Chris’s Air Jaws: Cliffhanger blog.

For anyone who is going to be visiting Robberg, Dr. Hammerschlag has just developed a very exciting citizen science App whereby you can actively contribute to any sightings you may have at Robberg.

The app can be downloaded here: https://www.livespotr.com/shark

Sevengill Sharks at Seal Island

On 25 May-Port and Starboard, the shark-hunting Orca caused havoc at Seal Island. The multitude of Sevengill sharks that we had been seeing was either preyed upon or simply fled the Island and for the following 6 weeks, there were none to be seen.

However, in the last week of July, I am thrilled to report that we are starting to see their return! Hooray!! Our much-loved Sevengill sharks have been seen on all trips in the last week with numbers of 2 to 4 sharks per trip. Going into August we are very much looking forward to working with these highly interactive sharks.

You may also be interested in the Great White shark in Mossel Bay.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Blogs

Mako Shark
Shark Cage Diving

Cage Diving with Sharks

It was eighteen miles off Cape Point when we found them – two Blue Sharks and a Mako. We’d encountered an early morning mist which

New Level 4 Restrictions.

The new level 4 restrictions announced by the government of South Africa have not affected our shark tours and cage diving operations.

We are operating.

Book with confidence – if your day trip bookings are affected due to COVID 19 restrictions, free cancellation applies.

Looking forward to hosting you.