鯊魚籠潛水 2019 年 XNUMX 月

灰鯖鯊

與鯊魚一起工作肯定會讓我們保持警覺。 我們生活在一個快速發生大規模生態和環境變化的時期,因此我們不得不使我們的業務適應這些變化和挑戰。

自去年 3 月以來,我們在海豹島與 Sevengill 鯊魚一起進行了非常成功的鯊魚籠潛水之旅,直到 XNUMX 月底,我們沒有理由認為我們會再被拋出一個曲線球。 儘管過去 XNUMX 年南非海岸線上的大白鯊目擊事件是不可預測的,但每年 XNUMX 月和 XNUMX 月我們都會在海豹島看到大白鯊。 所以到 XNUMX 月底,我們期待著我們的第一批大白鯊會在幾天內到達,與此同時,我們很高興與七鰓鯊互動。

進入臭名昭著的左舷和右舷的逆戟鯨二人組……。

是的,令我們非常沮喪的是,我們在 25 月 XNUMX 日清晨接到了船長瑞安的電話。 左舷和右舷在海豹島。

逆戟鯨

我們能夠在海豹島度過 4 個小時,試圖觀察這次遭遇。 完整的博客和報告可以在這裡閱讀:海豹島的左舷和右舷。

這是一個令人著迷的觀察,但不幸的是結果並不理想。 從可靠的記錄來看,它們似乎在靠近海豹島和福斯灣的地方又呆了 5 天,從那以後我們就沒有在海豹島、Sevengill 或 Great White 看到鯊魚。

我們確信一些 Sevengill 鯊魚被殺死,其他人逃離了該地區。 這對我們 Apex 的所有人來說都是令人心碎的,尤其是對於我們的工作人員來說,他們花了很多時間與這些令人難以置信的鯊魚相處,逐個了解了許多鯊魚。

七鰓鯊已經存在了 180 億年,它們的壽命甚至比恐龍還要長。 所以,如果不是倖存者,他們什麼都不是,我們相信他們會回到海豹島。 我們只需要耐心等待,直到他們準備好。

我們擔心的是,左舷和右舷的存在可能會對任何到達的大白鯊產生影響。 我們從它們在 Gansbaai 地區的存在就知道,這些逆戟鯨只需要游泳/橫穿該地區,所有的大白鯊都會離開,有時會持續數週。

所以,最重要的是我們不確定我們目前正在處理什麼。

章魚漁業在 2 週內又殺死了 2 頭鯨魚

最後,你們中的許多人會一直關注社交媒體上關於福爾斯灣章魚漁業的帖子,這些帖子在過去 2 年里通過漁具纏住了許多鯨魚。 現在,在短短 2 週內,又有 2 頭鯨魚因這種“實驗性漁業”而死亡。 順便說一下,它在過去的 17 年裡一直在實驗許可證下運行! 一如既往,DAFF 對有關此事的任何反饋保持沉默。

巨大的公眾壓力以及來自開普敦市和其他行業角色的壓力越來越大。 如果你想關注這個故事,請閱讀這裡。

從我們的角度來看,這些章魚陷阱在過去 3 年裡已經並繼續部署在海豹島。 任何來到那裡的動物都必須穿過雷區。 就在一周前,在島的西側周圍以及發射台前有不少於 14 個花車。

對於海豹來說,陷阱被放置在它們通常接近和離開島嶼的路徑上的任何地方。

非常令人擔憂的是,如果鯨魚可以被纏住,那麼白鯊肯定也可以嗎? 海豹島周圍的現狀是一場生態噩夢,絕不應該被允許。

是時候結束這個行業了。

我為憤怒的語氣道歉,但我們對 DAFF 和 DEA 沒有照顧他們被賦予可持續管理任務的環境感到非常沮喪。 很快就什麼都沒有了。

在發布之時,我們很高興地報告福斯灣的八達通漁業已被暫停。 一旦我們獲得更多信息,我們將在我們的社交媒體上分享。

現在是好消息!

我們一直以 2 個基本原則經營我們的業務。 與我們一起工作的動物總是以最合乎道德的方式工作,其次是我們總是努力為我們的客戶做最好的事情。

隨著海豹島的發展,我們調整了前往開普角鯊魚潛水的行程。

這次籠子潛水發生在著名的地標開普角附近,在這些營養豐富的水域中,我們有可能同時看到灰鯖鯊和藍鯊。 我們非常幸運在 XNUMX 月份有兩個好天氣,而且旅行非常棒。

在我們 20 月份進行的大約 10 次旅行中,我們在所有旅行中都看到了鯊魚,在大多數旅行中,我們看到了兩種鯊魚。 水的能見度始終為 XNUMX 米以上,因此實際的潛水體驗非常好且非常愉快。

對我來說,藍鯊是最適合潛水的鯊魚之一。 一旦他們到達船上,他們很可能會在整個旅程中停留。 它們非常互動,可以非常接近地通過籠子。 他們也完全沒有威脅。

鯖鯊是大白鯊的表親,是一種非常特別的鯊魚,可以觀賞和潛水。 它們是海洋中速度最快的魚之一,它們的鈷藍色非常精緻。 藍鯊給你一種在水下快樂的感覺,而灰鯖會讓你毫不懷疑它們是一個嚴重的捕食者! 兩種鯊魚都提供令人驚嘆的鯊魚體驗。

除了體驗之外,還有機會看到各種各樣的公海海鳥,強大的信天翁也包括在這一組中。 與往常一樣,我們嘗試開展以海洋野生動物為重點的旅行,除了鯊魚和數量可觀的鳥類外,我們還遇到了座頭鯨和普通海豚群。

我們見過的最大的Mako!

六月的亮點是與我們見過的最大的灰鯖鯊的目擊和互動。 在開普角附近天氣晴朗的一天,就在我們要結束早上的活動之前,一條非常大的鯊魚出現在浮油中。 克里斯當時在水中,他實際上是第一個從下面發現它的人。 它進來時所有的槍都在燃燒並表現出高度興奮的行為。 事實上,我非常興奮,這只是我第二次看到克里斯因鯊魚的滑稽動作而浮出水面! 片刻之後,當船周圍的場景平靜下來後,它稍微安靜了下來,克里斯能夠回到裡面。

這條鯊魚非常壯觀,我們估計她至少有 3 米長,而且有很大的腰圍。 她實際上是如此之大,以至於她在水中就像一條大白鯊一樣移動。

雖然她已經安靜下來了,但她的膽子還是很大的,會不斷的調查克里斯,他喜歡的克里斯!

一轉眼,2個小時過去了。 這是我們永遠不會忘記的非常特別的互動。

灰鯖鯊

有趣的是,在離開開普角 20 多年之後,直到現在我們才看到了我們有史以來最大的 Mako。 回顧我們在開普角的一個月,在我們的 Apex 旅行中看到了許多非常大的 Mako,許多大小在 2 到 2.5 米之間。 這太巧合了,所以也許更大的 Mako 在我們的冬季經常光顧開普角水域? 我們通常不會在每年的這個時候出去,所以這肯定是值得深思的……

無論發生什麼,我們將盡最大努力尋找鯊魚,並為我們的客戶提供最佳解決方案和選擇。

您也可能對。。。有興趣 在赫曼努斯與大白鯊一起潛水, 以及, 甘斯拜大白鯊籠潛水.

分享這個帖子

相關博客

鯊魚籠潛水南非
大白鯊新聞

在莫塞爾灣與 Apex 進行籠式潛水

如果您正在探索著名的花園大道,莫塞爾灣海豹島的大白鯊潛水是完美的鯊魚潛水站。 莫塞爾

鯊魚籠潛水 開普敦 2018 年 XNUMX 月
鯊魚字節

鯊魚籠潛水 開普敦 2018 年 XNUMX 月

最重要的是關於嚴重過度捕撈的令人沮喪的消息,以及因底棲動物之手導致的 Smoothhound 和 Soup fin 鯊魚種群崩潰

Shark Cage Diving June 2019

Mako Shark

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

Working with sharks certainly keeps us on our toes. We are living in a period where massive ecological and environmental changes are taking place at a rapid rate and as such we have had to adapt our business to these changes and challenges.

Since September last year, we have been running hugely successful shark cage diving trips with Sevengill sharks at Seal Island and up to the end of May, we had no reason to think we’d be thrown another curveball. Even though the Great white shark sightings along the South African coastline have been unpredictable the last 3 years, every June and July we have been seeing Great whites at Seal Island. So by the end of May, we were expecting our first Great whites to arrive within days and in the meantime, we were very happy to interact with the Sevengill sharks.

Enter the notorious Orca duo of Port and Starboard….

Yes, to our great dismay we received a phone call from our Skipper, Ryan early on the morning of 25 May. Port and Starboard were at Seal Island.

Orcas

We were able to spend 4 hours at Seal Island trying to observe this encounter. The full blog and report can be read here: Port & Starboard at Seal Island.

It was a fascinating observation but the results are unfortunately less than desirable. From reliable records, it seemed they stayed close to Seal Island and in False Bay for a further 5 days and since then we have not seen a shark at Seal Island, Sevengill, or Great White.

We are sure that a number of Sevengill sharks were killed and that the others fled the area. This has been heartbreaking for all of us at Apex but especially for our crew who have spent so much time with these incredible sharks, getting to know many sharks on an individual basis.

Sevengill sharks have been around for 180 million years, they have even outlived the Dinosaurs. So, they are nothing if not survivors, and we are sure they will return to Seal Island. We just have to be patient and wait until they are ready.

What we are concerned about is that the presence of Port and Starboard could have had an effect on any arriving Great white sharks. We know from their mere presence in the Gansbaai area that these orcas just have to swim/transverse through the area and all the Great whites leave, sometimes for weeks on end.

So, the bottom line is that we are not sure what we are dealing with at the moment.

OCTOPUS FISHERY KILLS ANOTHER 2 WHALES IN 2 WEEKS

In closing, many of you would have been following social media posts about the Octopus Fishery in False Bay having killed numerous whales via entanglement in their fishing gear over the last 2 years. Now, in just 2 weeks, 2 more whales have died as a result of this “experimental fishery”. Just by the way, it has been operating under an experimental licence for the last 17 years! True to form, DAFF remains mum with regards to any feedback on the matter.

Huge public pressure, as well as pressure from The City of Cape Town and other industry role-players, is mounting. If you would like to follow this story please have a read here.

From our point of view, these octopus traps have, and continue to be deployed at Seal Island for the past 3 years. Any animal coming there has to navigate a minefield. There were no less than 14 floats around the West side of the Island just a week ago and also in front of the launchpad.

For the seals, the traps are placed everywhere in terms of the pathways of where they usually approach and leave the Island from.

And on a very worrying note, if whales can get entangled then surely white sharks can as well? The current situation around Seal Island is an ecological nightmare and should never be allowed.

It’s time this industry is put to an end.

I do apologise for the angry tone but we are completely frustrated with DAFF and DEA not looking after the environment they have been tasked with managing on a sustainable level. Soon there will be nothing left.

At the time of publican, we are very happy to report that the Octopus Fishery in False Bay has been put under suspension. Once we have more information we will share this on our social media outlets.

And now the Good News!

We have always run our business on 2 basic principles. The animals we work with are always worked within the most ethical way possible and second is that we always try to do what is best for our clients.

In the wake of the Seal Island developments, we adjusted our trips to the Cape Point Shark dive.

This cage dive takes place just beyond the famous landmark that is Cape Point and in these nutrient-rich waters, we have the possibility of seeing both Mako and Blue sharks. We were extremely lucky to have two good patches of weather in June and the trips have been absolutely fantastic.

In the roughly 20 trips we did in June we saw sharks on all our trips and on most trips we saw both species. The water visibility was always 10 meters plus so the actual dive experience has been very good and highly enjoyable.

Blue sharks are for me one of the best species of sharks to dive with. Once they arrive at the boat they are most likely to stay for the whole duration of the trip. They are very interactive and make very close passes of the cage. They are also completely non-threatening.

The Mako shark, the cousin to the Great white shark, is a very special shark to see and dive with. They are one of the fastest fish in the ocean and with their cobalt blue colour they are just exquisite. Blue sharks give you a happy feeling underwater whereas the Mako will leave you in no doubt that they are a serious predator! Both sharks offer an amazing shark experience.

Added to the experience is the chance to see a great variety of open ocean sea birds, the mighty Albatross being included in this group. As always, we try to run marine wildlife-focused trips, and along with the sharks and an impressive number of bird species we have also come across humpback whales and schools of common dolphins.

The Biggest Mako we have ever seen!

The highlight of June has been the sighting and interaction with the largest Mako shark we have ever seen. On a beautiful weather day off Cape Point, and just before we were to finish up for the morning, a very large shark appeared in the slick. Chris was in the water at the time and he was actually the first person to spot it from below. It came in with all guns blazing and displaying highly excitable behaviour. In fact, I was so excited, this is only the second time I have ever seen Chris get out of the water due to antics from a shark! After a few moments, and once it had sussed out the scene around the boat, it quietened down somewhat and Chris was able to get back in.

This shark was absolutely magnificent and we estimated her to be at least 3 meters in length as well as sporting a large girth. She was actually so big that she moved just like a great white shark in the water.

Even though she had quietened down, she was still extremely bold and would constantly investigate Chris, which he loved!

In a blink of an eye, 2 hours had passed. It was a very special interaction that we will never forget.

Mako shark

It is interesting to us that after going off Cape Point for more than 20 years, it is only now that we have seen our biggest Mako ever. Looking back on our month off Cape Point, a number of very large Mako’s have been seen on our Apex trips, many in the size range of between 2 and 2.5 meters. It’s too much of a coincidence so perhaps just maybe the larger Mako’s are frequenting the Cape Point waters during our winter months? We don’t normally go out here this time of year so it is certainly food for thought…

Whatever happens, going forward we will do our utmost to find sharks and to provide the best solutions and options for our clients.

You may also be interested in Diving with Great White sharks in Hermanus, as well as, Great White shark cage diving in Gansbaai.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Blogs

Broadnose Sevengill Shark
Shark Bytes

Shark Diving Cape Town November 2018

SHARK DIVING NEWS FROM CAPE TOWN Seal Island From mid-September onwards, we enter what has historically been our off-season at Seal Island. If you have

New Level 4 Restrictions.

The new level 4 restrictions announced by the government of South Africa have not affected our shark tours and cage diving operations.

We are operating.

Book with confidence – if your day trip bookings are affected due to COVID 19 restrictions, free cancellation applies.

Looking forward to hosting you.