鯊魚潛水 2019 年 XNUMX 月

寬鼻七鰓鯊

海豹島,假灣新聞

隨著七鰓鯊到達海豹島,我們在海豹島度過了一個非常忙碌的夏天。 到目前為止,自 99 年 2018 月以來,我們在旅行中看到鯊魚的成功率為 22%,旅行中記錄的七鰓鯊數量最多是 6 個人。 這些數字超出了我們最大的期望,我們很高興能夠為我們的客人提供如此令人興奮的鯊魚體驗。 在大多數情況下,Sevengill 鯊魚具有高度的互動性,並且會在船和籠子周圍呆很長時間,因此籠子潛水員和水面觀察者都能獲得非常好的視野。 在大多數旅行中,我們會看到 10 到 XNUMX 條不同的鯊魚。

在我們夏天的高峰期,19 月下旬和 XNUMX 月,我們甚至在我們的船上記錄了青銅捕鯨鯊。 這些鯊魚通常是溫水物種,當我們在海豹島的溫度超過 XNUMX 攝氏度時,我們就看到了它們。

另一個亮點是在海豹島觀察海豹幼崽的季節。 這是海豹島發揮其絕對能力的時候。 成年雄性從近海覓食地集體抵達繁殖季節,繁殖季節與繁殖季節大致相同,數以千計的海豹幼崽出生。

由於海豹島有大量的七鰓鯊,我們一直在尋找任何可能的捕食事件,尤其是小海豹幼崽,人們認為這對像七鰓鯊這樣的大型鯊魚來說是非常容易的一餐。 儘管沒有記錄到地表捕食事件,但我們相當肯定,七鰓鯊會清除可能沉入海床底部的死海豹幼崽。

一個有趣的觀察是一條 1.9 m 長的 Sevengill 鯊魚,它的側面覆蓋著很深的划痕。 由於這不是一種性成熟的動物(根據其體型),我們認為這些划痕可能來自海豹,表明可能是 Sevengill 的掠奪性攻擊。 眾所周知,七鰓鯊主要是獵食者,上個季節我們的船隻上唯一一次觀察到七鰓鯊捕獲和食用活海豹。 我們的船員一直對任何可能的掠食行為保持警惕,特別是因為 Sevengill 鯊魚大量到達海豹島是一種新行為,我們非常有興趣觀察掠食者物種的這種變化會發生什麼。

隨著水溫開始降溫,我們開始進入開普敦的秋季月份,我們開始遇到海豚群。 每年的這個時候,大群誘餌魚(主要是鳀魚)進入福爾斯灣,這種生物量可以為大量的食肉動物提供食物,從海豚到鯨魚,再到塘鵝和海鷗。

在過去 10 天左右的時間裡,在我們一半以上的鯊魚旅行中發現了多達 600 只動物的海豚群。 我喜歡一年中的這個時候,因為福爾斯灣確實提供了觀賞各種巨型動物的絕佳機會!

如果過去 3 個季節過去了,我們應該開始期待 XNUMX 月份第一批大白鯊返回海豹島。 與此同時,我們很高興有七鰓鯊在海豹島陪伴我們!

您可能還對我們的一些其他文章感興趣,例如 甘斯拜大白鯊籠潛水, 以及, 開普敦的鯊魚籠潛水.

分享這個帖子

相關博客

灰鯖鯊
鯊魚字節

鯊魚籠潛水 2019 年 XNUMX 月

與鯊魚一起工作肯定會讓我們保持警覺。 我們生活在一個正在發生巨大生態和環境變化的時期

獅子
旅行報告

探索大納米里平原

坦桑尼亞東南塞倫蓋蒂 自 1 月 XNUMX 日南非邊境開放以來,我們一直試圖盡可能多地旅行,以便

Shark Diving March 2019

Broadnose Sevengill Shark

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

SEAL ISLAND, FALSE BAY NEWS

With the arrival of the Sevengill sharks to Seal Island, we have had an extremely busy summer at Seal Island. So far we have had a 99% success rate with seeing sharks on our trips since September 2018 with the most number of Sevengills recorded on a trip being 22 different individuals. These kinds of numbers have surpassed our greatest expectations and we are thrilled at being able to offer our guests such an exciting shark experience. For the most part, the Sevengill sharks are highly interactive and spend long time periods around the boat and cage so both cage divers and surface viewers are getting very good views. On most trips, we are seeing between 6 and 10 different sharks.

At the peak of our summer, in late December and January, we were even recording Bronze whaler sharks to our boat. These sharks are generally warmer water species and we were seeing them when we had temperatures above 19 degrees Celsius at Seal Island.

Another highlight has been observing the seal pupping season at Seal Island. This is when Seal Island is at its absolute capacity. The adult males arrive en mass from the offshore feeding grounds for the breeding season which takes place at roughly the same time as the pupping season when literally thousands of seal pups are born.

With the high presence of Sevengill sharks at Seal Island, we were on the lookout for any possible predation events, especially on the tiny seal pups which one would think to be a very easy meal for a large shark such as a Sevengill. Although no surface predatory events were recorded we feel fairly certain that the Sevengill sharks would have been scavenging dead seal pups that would have sunk to the bottom of the sea bed.

An interesting observation was of a 1.9 m long Sevengill shark covered in deep scratches along its side. As this was not a sexually mature animal (according to its size) our thinking is that the scratches could have come from a seal, indicating a possible predatory attack by the Sevengill. Sevengill sharks are primarily known to be scavenge hunters and the only observation of a Sevengill catching and consuming a live seal came from our vessel last season. Our crew is constantly vigilant for any possible predatory behaviour especially since the arrival of Sevengill sharks en mass to Seal Island is new behaviour and we are extremely interested in observing what takes place with this change in predator species.

As the water temperatures begin to cool and we start to move into our autumn months in Cape Town we are starting to come across schools of Common Dolphin. At this time of the year, large shoals of baitfish (mostly anchovy) come into False Bay and this biomass serves to feed a large suite of predators ranging from Dolphins to whales to Cape Gannets and shearwaters.

In the last 10 days or so, dolphin schools of up to 600 animals have been spotted on more than half of our shark trips. I love this time of the year as False Bay truly offers amazing opportunities to see a varied amount of megafauna!

If the last 3 seasons are anything to go by we should start to expect the first returning Great white sharks to Seal Island in June. In the meantime, we are very happy to have the Sevengill sharks keep us company at Seal Island!

You may also be interested in some of our other articles, such as Great White shark cage diving in Gansbaai, as well as, Shark cage diving in Cape Town.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Blogs

Shark CageDiving May 2018
Shark Conservation

Far-Reaching Effects on Shark Acoustic Tagging

We recently came across this interesting article that highlights the significant effects of the use of acoustic tagging. The fact that the seals seem to

New Level 4 Restrictions.

The new level 4 restrictions announced by the government of South Africa have not affected our shark tours and cage diving operations.

We are operating.

Book with confidence – if your day trip bookings are affected due to COVID 19 restrictions, free cancellation applies.

Looking forward to hosting you.