鯊魚潛水 2019 年 XNUMX 月

大白鯊鳥瞰圖

在最新的 Shark Bytes 中,我們為您帶來了來自南非海岸線的鯊魚新聞,先睹為快,我們剛剛為 2019 年鯊魚週拍攝了最新的 Air Jaws。

海豹島,假灣新聞

對於南非海岸的任何鯊魚潛水運營商來說,2019 年永遠不會是確定的一年。 在過去的 3 年裡,在所有三個地點看到的大白鯊的數量以及目擊事件的不可預測性都顯著減少。 另一方面,新的掠食性鯊魚物種填補了大白鯊留下的空白,具有諷刺意味的是,從旅遊業的角度來看,這些其他鯊魚物種實際上在籠子周圍更具吸引力,因此客人們得到了一些真正互動的鯊魚潛水。

到 2018 年底,Sevengill 鯊魚越來越多地出現在海豹島的情況變得越來越明顯,也許是在沒有大白鯊的情況下。 他們在我們整個夏季期間一直在海豹島,並且仍然大量存在。

因此,我們現在每年 12 個月都在海豹島與這些非常有趣的“海洋恐龍”進行鯊魚潛水之旅。 我說七鰓類恐龍在進化上有 180 億年的歷史,而且確實比恐龍活得更久! 在過去的幾個月裡,我們在與這些鯊魚合作方面有一個巨大的學習曲線,現在我們在 99% 的旅行中都能看到它們。 它們具有令人難以置信的互動性,可以長時間待在船和籠子周圍。 我們看到的一些鯊魚長達 2.7 米,因此它們非常令人印象深刻,可以提供世界一流的鯊魚籠潛水體驗。 事實上,我們客人的反饋一直是這次旅行是一次了不起的鯊魚體驗。

我們現在每次旅行都會看到 5 到 9 條鯊魚,其中的亮點是極好的水能見度。 在 8 月的大部分時間裡,我們的水下能見度在 12 到 XNUMX 米之間,這為特殊的潛水條件創造了條件。 

我們還經常看到一群普通海豚和一些布賴德鯨,為您提供全方位的自然體驗。

我們不知道六月對我們來說會是什麼,但如果 2017 年和 2018 年過去,我們希望看到前幾隻大白鯊在六月中旬的某個時候回到海豹島。

甘斯拜和莫塞爾灣新聞

在 XNUMX 月期間,幹斯拜確實有一周的時間目擊了少數大白鯊。 儘管這裡的大白鯊仍然非常難以預測,但該地區仍然存在青銅捕鯨魚/銅鯊。 有趣的是,儘管水溫下降,它們仍然存在。 似乎與海豹島一樣,如果食物鏈中出現缺口,並且另一個捕食者的威脅不再是問題,那麼就有充分的理由留在該地區。

銅鯊的存在也意味著幹斯拜有很好的鯊魚潛水機會,在大​​白鯊回歸之前,我們當然希望它們的存在。

在莫塞爾灣地區,大白鯊已經開始返回他們的海豹島。 在夏季的幾個月裡,這裡的大白人目擊事件也是不可預測的,數量較少,在某些時期甚至根本沒有。 在過去的幾周里,大白隊變得更加規律了,這確實令人鬆了一口氣。

總的來說,我們發現目前南非的鯊魚情況存在混亂。

2019 年鯊魚週的新空氣鉗!

至少有一些非常好的大白鯊新聞要從南非分享! 我們剛剛結束了全新的 Air Jaws 節目的拍攝,該節目將在探索頻道的 2019 年鯊魚周放映。 它是由我們的正常劇組製作人 Jeff Kurr、主持人 Chris Fallows、Neil Hammerschlag 博士、Alison Towner 和 Enrico Gennari 博士以及攝影師 Tony Sacco、Andy Brandy Casagrande 和音響師 Henau Marais 拍攝的。

整個節目都是在南非拍攝的,我們成功地捕捉到了極其獨特且同樣引人入勝的大白鯊行為。 我們的拍攝和觀察地點在普利登堡灣和莫塞爾灣,但我暫時不打算放棄比賽!

在過去的 5 年裡,我們一直看到我們海岸線上的所有生物量普遍向東移動。 在這段時間裡,位於普利登堡灣附近的一個小型海豹群一直在增長,因此大白鯊的數量也在增加。 鯊魚的數量仍然非常有限,因此情況很不穩定,但很高興知道正在發生新的事情。

觀看這個節目時,您需要警惕……它肯定會給您帶來一些關於狩獵大白鯊和海角海豹行為以及使用新技術和角度進行拍攝的新想法!

您可能還對我們的其他文章感興趣, 南非 De Hoop 獨家觀鯨, 以及, 莫塞爾灣的大白鯊.

日落

分享這個帖子

相關博客

鯊魚熱點和重疊的捕魚地點
鯊魚保育

鯊魚熱點和重疊的捕魚地點

鯊魚熱點和重疊漁場 國際科學家團隊的一項新研究發現,商業漁船瞄準鯊魚熱點,

鯊魚籠潛水 2019 年 XNUMX 月
鯊魚字節

鯊魚籠潛水 2019 年 XNUMX 月

七月無疑是一個有趣且富有成效的月份,充滿了許多高點。 隨著大白鯊在南非開普敦的不斷變化的分佈

Shark Diving May 2019

Great White Shark Aerial View

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

In the latest Shark Bytes, we bring you sharky news from along the South African coastline, a sneak peek on the newest Air Jaws that we just finished shooting for Shark Week 2019.

SEAL ISLAND, FALSE BAY NEWS

2019 was never going to be a year of certainty for any of the shark diving operators along the South African coast. The last 3 years have seen a dramatic decrease in the numbers of great white sharks seen at all three locations as well as the unpredictability of sightings. On the flip side of that, new predatory shark species have filled the gaps left by the great whites, and ironically from a tourism point of view, these other shark species are actually more engaging around the cages so guests have been getting some really interactive shark dives.

Towards the end of 2018, it was becoming increasingly apparent that Sevengill sharks were becoming increasingly present at Seal Island, perhaps in the absence of Great white sharks. They have been at Seal Island over our entire summer period and are still present in great numbers.

As such we are now operating shark diving trips 12 months of the year at Seal Island with these really interesting “dinosaurs of the sea”. I say dinosaurs as the Sevengills are in evolutionary terms 180 million years old, and have literally outlived the dinosaurs! We have had a huge learning curve in terms of working with these sharks over the past months and are now at the point where we are seeing them on 99% of our trips. They are incredibly interactive and stay around the boat and cage for long periods of time. Some of the sharks we are seeing are up to 2.7 meters in length so they are massively impressive and make for a world-class shark cage diving experience. In fact, the feedback from our guests is always that the trip was an amazing shark experience.

We are now seeing between 5 and 9 sharks per trip with the highlight being the extremely good water visibility. For most of May, we have had between 8 and 12 meters of underwater visibility making for exceptional diving conditions. 

We have also had pretty regular sightings of schools of common dolphin and a number of Bryde’s whales making for good all-around nature experiences.

We don’t know what June will hold for us but if 2017 and 2018 are anything to go by we are hoping to see the arrival of the first few Great white sharks back to Seal Island sometime in mid-June.

GANSBAAI AND MOSSEL BAY NEWS

During May Gansbaai did have a week-long period of a handful of Great white shark sightings. Although the Great whites continue to be very unpredictable here the Bronze whaler/Copper sharks are still present in the area. It is interesting to note that they are still present despite the drop in water temperature. It seems that, as with Seal Island, if a gap opens up in the food chain as well as the threat of another predator no longer being an issue, there is good reason to stay in that area.

The presence of the Copper sharks has also meant there is a very good shark diving opportunity in Gansbaai and until the Great white sharks return we certainly hope their presence remains.

In the Mossel Bay area, the Great whites have started to return back to their Seal Island. Over the summer months, the great white sightings have also been unpredictable here, seen in lower numbers and for some periods, not at all. Over the last few weeks, the Great Whites have become more regular which is a relief indeed.

In general, we are finding there is confusion regarding the shark situation in South Africa at present.

A NEW AIR JAWS FOR SHARK WEEK 2019!

There is at least some very good Great White shark news to be shared from South Africa! We have just wrapped up shooting a brand new Air Jaws show that will be screened on Discovery Channel’s 2019 Shark Week. It was filmed with our normal crew of Producer Jeff Kurr, Hosts Chris Fallows, Dr. Neil Hammerschlag, Alison Towner, and Dr. Enrico Gennari with cameramen Tony Sacco, Andy Brandy Casagrande & sound man Henau Marais.

The entire show has been filmed in South Africa and we were successful in capturing extremely unique and equally fascinating Great white shark behaviour. Our filming and observation locations were in Plettenberg Bay and Mossel Bay but I am not going to give the game away just yet!

Over the last 5 years, we have been seeing a general eastwards shift of all biomass up our coastline. A small seal colony located close to Plettenberg Bay has been growing over this time and with this, the presence of Great white sharks has also been increasing. The number of sharks is still very limited and as such the situation is precarious but it is exciting to know that new things are happening.

You’ll need to red flag watching this show … it will certainly bring something new to your thoughts about hunting Great White sharks and Cape Fur seal behaviour along with filming with new techniques & angles!

You may also be interested in our other articles, Exclusive Whale watching in De Hoop, South Africa, as well as, Great White sharks in Mossel Bay.

Sunset

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Blogs

Great White Shark
Shark Documentaries

My Time with Fred

Just across the Foveaux Strait which separates New Zealand’s South Island from the much smaller Stewart Island lies a tiny group of islands known as

Shark Cage Diving Boats
Shark Cage Diving

Is Shark Cage Diving Ethical?

It seems with the advent of social media, more and more tourist videos of Great white sharks getting into shark cages and sharks thrashing around on baits

New Level 4 Restrictions.

The new level 4 restrictions announced by the government of South Africa have not affected our shark tours and cage diving operations.

We are operating.

Book with confidence – if your day trip bookings are affected due to COVID 19 restrictions, free cancellation applies.

Looking forward to hosting you.