鲨鱼潜水 2019 年 XNUMX 月

鲨鱼潜水 2019 年 XNUMX 月

分享这篇文章

鲨鱼目击,海岸线角

从 XNUMX 月底开始,七鳃鲨开始返回海豹岛,直到 XNUMX 月,鲨鱼数量才稳步增加。

10 月初,我们刚从津巴布韦回来,克里斯和我参加了我们的一次鲨鱼潜水之旅,前往海豹岛。 我们有不少于 XNUMX 只不同的七鳃鲨! 离开两个月后,不仅能回到大海上,而且还能被提醒这些鲨鱼是多么神奇,真是太好了。 我认为我最喜欢它们的是它们在船和笼子周围非常互动,并且大多数会停留很长时间。

对于任何想要激烈而引人入胜的鲨鱼遭遇的人来说,这些人真的很合适。 我们看到的动物身长在 1.8 米到 2.5 米之间,而且体型非常结实。 它们确实是非常大的动物。 水的能见度约为 5 米,颜色为干净的绿色,所以在笼子里,潜水体验和水下观赏非常好。 顶部的视野也非常好,鲨鱼几乎一直在水面上。

到 XNUMX 月底,目击事件略有放缓,但我们预计会有越来越多的七鳃鲨进入海豹岛,以配合开普海豹幼崽和繁殖季节。 我们认为海豹岛的主要吸引力在于有机会以胎衣、死去的幼崽和其他死去的海豹为食。

2018 年,我们的七鳃鲨数量在 XNUMX 月和 XNUMX 月期间达到顶峰,同时还看到了大量铜鲨(青铜捕鲸鲨)。 随着夏季的到来,温暖的水将开始进入福斯湾,带来通常良好到非常好的水透明度。 完美的条件 在开普敦的鲨鱼笼潜水 这个夏天!

临近 90,000 月,我们非常期待在海豹岛上观察海豹群。 XNUMX 月和 XNUMX 月是繁殖和繁殖的月份,海豹群数量可以增加到 XNUMX 只。 这也是一年中看到成年男性建立后宫的时候,可以目睹他们为争夺统治地位而战的伟大行为。

几个月后,我们还在十月份进行了第一次开普角鲨鱼之旅。 在距良好水域约 15 英里处,发现了能见度(能见度约 10 米),还有一只非常好奇的蓝鲨,它在旅途的大部分时间里都呆在附近。 途中还看到了昏暗的海豚。 同样,随着夏季的临近,我们预计开普角附近的灰鲭鲨和蓝鲨的数量会增加,我们也期待进行更多这样的旅行。

在干斯拜,仍有少量大白鲨被发现,这是个好消息,而且可能会持续很长时间。 这里还可以看到大量的铜鲨。 有许多旅行没有看到大白鲨,但这似乎是我们进入 XNUMX 月、XNUMX 月和 XNUMX 月时的正常活动。 有趣的是,当铜鲨的数量非常多时,大白鲨似乎会远离鲨鱼笼潜水船,而且它们的行为非常谨慎和怯懦。

好的数量 莫塞尔湾的大白鲨 仍然被看到,对于那些特别想看到大白鲨的人,我们一直在推荐我们的客人到这个地区。 从历史上看,当这里的操作员在假期旺季只能在沿海和近海进一步工作时,大白鲨的目击率会减少。 对于那些在 45 月和 15 月访问开普敦并正在寻找高质量的鲨鱼互动/体验的人,我真的推荐海豹岛的 Sevengill 鲨鱼潜水。 我们从距离开普敦仅 XNUMX 分钟路程的西蒙镇出发。 此外,我们距博尔德斯海滩企鹅栖息地仅几分钟路程,距好望角 XNUMX 分钟路程。 因此,您可以真正充分利用您的一天。

相关博客

鲨鱼笼潜水南非
鲨鱼字节

鲨鱼字节 2020 年 XNUMX 月

由于 Covid-19 大流行,南非封锁期间的大白鲨新闻我已经写了近 20 年的鲨鱼字节,

大白鲨
鲨鱼纪录片

我和弗雷德的时光

就在将新西兰南岛与小得多的斯图尔特岛分开的福沃海峡对面有一小群岛屿,称为

Shark Diving September 2019

Shark Diving September 2019

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

Shark Sightings, Cape Coastline

From the end of July, the Sevengill sharks began returning back to Seal Island, and a steady increase in numbers of sharks was seen well into October.

Chris & I joined one of our shark diving trips to Seal Island in early October, just after we had returned from Zimbabwe. We had no less than 10 different individual Sevengill sharks! After being away for two months it was great to not only be back on the ocean but also to be reminded of just how amazing these sharks are. I think what I love most about them is that they are so interactive around the boat and cage, and most stay for long periods of time.

For anyone wanting an intense and engrossing shark encounter, these guys really fit the bill. The animals we saw were between 1.8 meters and 2.5 meters in length as well as having a very stocky build. They were very large animals indeed. The water visibility was about 5 meters and clean green in colour, so whilst in the cage, the diving experience and underwater viewing were excellent.  Topside the viewing was also very good and the sharks were almost constantly up at the surface.

Towards the end of October the sightings slowed down a little but we expect more and more Seven-gill sharks to pull into Seal Island to coincide with the Cape fur seal pupping and breeding season. We think the opportunity to scavenge feed on afterbirth, dead pups, and other dead seals are the main drawcard at Seal Island.

In 2018 our Sevengill shark numbers peaked over the December and January period along with a good number of Copper sharks (bronze whaler sharks) also being seen. With the onset of summer, warmer water will begin to come into False Bay bringing with it normally good to very good water clarity. Perfect conditions for Shark Cage Diving in Cape Town this summer!

As we approach November we are very much looking forward to observing the seal colony on Seal Island. November and December are the breeding and pupping months and the seal colony numbers can rise up to 90,000 strong. This is also the time of year to see the adult males setting up their harems and great behaviour can be witnessed as they fight for dominance.

In October we also did our first Cape Point Shark Trip after a couple of months. At about 15 miles out of good water, visibility was found (about 10 meters visibility) along with a very inquisitive Blue Shark that stayed around for most of the trip. Dusky dolphins were also seen en route. Again, as summer approaches we expect the numbers of Mako and Blue sharks off Cape Point to increase and we are looking forward to doing more of these trips too.

In Gansbaai, a small number of Great white sharks are still being spotted which is fantastic news, and long may it last. High numbers of Copper sharks are also being seen here. There have been a number of trips where Great white sharks were not seen but this seems to be normal activity as we head into October, November, and December. What’s interesting to hear is that when numbers of copper sharks are very high, it seems to keep the Great white sharks away from the shark cage diving boats and they behave in a pretty wary and skittish manner.

Good numbers of Great white sharks in Mossel Bay are still being seen and for those who are specifically wanting to see a Great white shark, we have been recommending our guests to this area. Historically, Great white sightings decrease when the operator here is restricted to working further along the coast and inshore over the peak holiday season. For those of you visiting Cape Town over December and January and are looking for a good quality shark interaction/experience, I would really recommend the Sevengill shark dive at Seal Island. We depart from Simon’s Town which is only 45 minutes from Cape Town. Additionally, we are just a few minutes from Boulders Beach Penguin Colony and 15 minutes from Cape of Good Hope. So, you are able to really maximise your day.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Blogs

shark cage diving South Africa
Great White Shark News

Shark Cage Diving in Mossel Bay

Great white shark diving at Seal Island in Mossel Bay is the perfect shark diving stop if you are exploring the famous Garden Route. Mossel

Shark Cage Divers
Shark Cage Diving

Great White Shark Cage Diving Gansbaai

The day had arrived for me to experience cage diving in the Capital of Great White shark hotspots in the world; Gansbaai. I had had the

New Level 4 Restrictions.

The new level 4 restrictions announced by the government of South Africa have not affected our shark tours and cage diving operations.

We are operating.

Book with confidence – if your day trip bookings are affected due to COVID 19 restrictions, free cancellation applies.

Looking forward to hosting you.