鲨鱼热点和重叠的捕鱼地点

蓝鲨

分享这篇文章

一个国际科学家团队的一项新研究发现,商业渔船的目标是北大西洋的鲨鱼热点,即鲨鱼往往聚集的地区。 研究人员认为,鲨鱼在这些海洋热点地区面临被过度捕捞的风险。

迈阿密大学(UM)Rosenstiel 海洋与大气科学学院和 UM Abess 生态系统科学与政策中心的研究助理教授 Neil Hammerschlag 是科学团队的一员,该团队在 25 月 XNUMX 日的期刊上发表了他们的研究结果美国国家科学院院刊。 作者在研究中报告说,商业渔民对鲨鱼的捕捞配额可能是保护海洋鲨鱼所必需的。

“我们的研究清楚地证明了卫星标记数据对保护的重要性,” UM 鲨鱼研究和保护计划主任 Hammerschlag 说,他为这项研究对大西洋西北部的几种鲨鱼物种进行了卫星标记和跟踪。 “这些发现既确定了问题,又为保护海洋鲨鱼提供了途径。”

在 2005 年至 2009 年的四年期间,研究人员在北大西洋追踪了 100 多条配备卫星标签的鲨鱼,这些鲨鱼来自北大西洋的六个不同物种,同时追踪了 186 艘配备 GPS 的西班牙和葡萄牙延绳钓渔船。 他们发现,渔船和鲨鱼出现在以温暖水温和高生产力为特征的海洋前沿,包括墨西哥湾流和纽芬兰附近的北大西洋海流/拉布拉多海流汇聚区。

每年有数以千万计的海洋鲨鱼被商业捕鱼活动捕获。

“许多研究追踪了鲨鱼,许多研究追踪了渔船,但缺乏对鲨鱼和渔船的精细跟踪,尽管这应该可以更好地说明应如何监管鲨鱼捕捞活动,”海洋的大卫·西姆斯教授说生物协会,该研究的资深作者。

据研究人员称,被追踪的两种捕捞量最大的物种——蓝鲨和灰鲭鲨的活动范围的大约 80% 与渔船的活动范围重叠,其中一些鲨鱼在超过 60% 的时间里停留在延绳钓附近被跟踪。 据估计,蓝鲨每月有 20 天可能被捕获,而灰鲭鲨每月有 12 天的潜在风险。

“虽然我们怀疑重叠可能很高,但我们不知道会这么高。 该研究的主要作者、葡萄牙波尔图大学的努诺·奎罗斯 (Nuno Queiroz) 说:“这种规模的空间使用重叠可能会增加鲨鱼对捕捞开发的敏感性,这对种群的影响尚不清楚。”

每年有数以千万计的海洋鲨鱼被商业捕捞作业捕获。 研究人员表示,缺乏关于鲨鱼可能遇到渔船的位置的数据阻碍了当前的鲨鱼保护工作。

研究人员提出,由于当前鲨鱼活动的热点地区过度捕捞的风险特别高,因此有必要采取捕捞配额或大小限制等保护措施,以保护目前对全球船队具有重要商业意义的海洋鲨鱼。

该研究题为“远洋鲨鱼的全洋跟踪揭示了延绳钓热点的重叠程度”,作者是 Nuno Queiroz、Nicolas E. Humphries、Gonzalo Mucientes、Neil Hammerschlag、Fernando P. Lima、Kylie L. Scales, Peter I. Miller、Lara L. Sousa、Rui Seabra 和 David W. Sims。 参与研究的机构有:英国海洋生物学协会、葡萄牙波尔图大学、南安普敦国家海洋学中心、南安普敦大学、CETMAR 基金会、迈阿密大学、普利茅斯海洋实验室、加州大学圣克鲁斯分校、国家海洋和波尔图大学建筑学院大气管理局

纸张可用 https://ww.pnas.org/content/early/2016/01/20/1510090113.abstract?sid=333b3279-9128-48a2-8e2e-0fe4921e3154 

相关博客

鲨鱼笼潜水 开普敦 2018 年 XNUMX 月
鲨鱼字节

鲨鱼笼潜水 开普敦 2018 年 XNUMX 月

最重要的是关于严重过度捕捞的令人沮丧的消息,以及因底栖动物之手导致的 Smoothhound 和 Soup fin 鲨鱼种群崩溃

Shark Hotspots and Overlapping Fishing Locations

Blue Shark

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

A new study from an international team of scientists found commercial fishing vessels target shark hotspots, areas where sharks tend to congregate, in the North Atlantic. The researchers suggest that sharks are at risk of being overfished in these oceanic hotspots.

Neil Hammerschlag, research assistant professor at the University of Miami (UM) Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science and UM Abess Center for Ecosystem Science and Policy, was part of the scientific team that published their findings in the Jan. 25 issue of the journal Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. The authors report in the study that catch quotas for sharks by commercial fishers might be necessary to protect oceanic sharks.

“Our research clearly demonstrates the importance of satellite tagging data for conservation,” said Hammerschlag, director of the UM Shark Research and Conservation Program who conducted the satellite tagging and tracking of several shark species in the northwestern Atlantic for the study. “The findings both identify the problem as well as provide a path for protecting oceanic sharks.”

During a four-year period from 2005 to 2009, the researchers tracked more than 100 sharks equipped with satellite tags from six different species in the North Atlantic while concurrently tracking 186 Spanish and Portuguese GPS-equipped longline fishing vessels. They found that the fishing vessels and sharks occurred in ocean fronts characterized by warm water temperature and high productivity, including the Gulf Stream and the North Atlantic Current/Labrador Current Convergence Zone near Newfoundland.

TENS OF MILLIONS OF OCEAN-DWELLING SHARKS ARE CAUGHT BY COMMERCIAL FISHING OPERATIONS EACH YEAR.

“Many studies have tracked sharks, and many studies have tracked fishing vessels, but fine-scale tracking of sharks and fishing vessels together is lacking, even though this should better inform how shark fisheries should be regulated,” said Professor David Sims of the Marine Biological Association, and the senior author of the study.

According to the researchers, about 80 percent of the range for two of the most heavily fished species tracked—the blue and mako sharks—overlapped with the fishing vessels’ range, with some individual sharks remaining near longlines for over 60 percent of the time they were tracked. Blue sharks were estimated to be vulnerable to potential capture 20 days per month, while the mako sharks’ potential risk was 12 days per month.

“Although we suspected overlap might be high, we had no idea it would be this high. Space-use overlap on this scale potentially increases shark susceptibility to fishing exploitation, which has unknown consequences for populations,” said Nuno Queiroz of the University of Porto, Portugal, the lead author of the study.

Tens of millions of ocean-dwelling sharks are caught by commercial fishing operations each year. The researchers suggest that a lack of data on where sharks are likely to encounter fishing vessels has hampered current shark conservation effort.

The researchers propose that because current hotspots of shark activity are at particularly high risk of overfishing, the introduction of conservation measures such as catch quotas or size limits will be necessary to protect oceanic sharks that are commercially important to fleets worldwide at the present time.

The study, titled “Ocean-wide tracking of pelagic sharks reveals extent of overlap with longline fishing hotspots,” was authored by By Nuno Queiroz, Nicolas E. Humphries, Gonzalo Mucientes, Neil Hammerschlag, Fernando P. Lima, Kylie L. Scales, Peter I. Miller, Lara L. Sousa, Rui Seabra, and David W. Sims. Instituations contributing to the research were: Marine Biological Association of the United Kingdom, Universidade da Porto in Portugal, National Oceanography Centre Southampton, University of Southampton, Fundación CETMAR, University of Miami, Plymouth Marine Laboratory, University of California Santa Cruz, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade do Porto

The paper is available http://ww.pnas.org/content/early/2016/01/20/1510090113.abstract?sid=333b3279-9128-48a2-8e2e-0fe4921e3154 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Blogs

Tigerbeach
Trip Reports

Tiger Beach and Bimini, Bahamas

February 2017 Back in 2002, Chris and I spent our honeymoon shark diving on a liveaboard dive boat in the Bahamas. 15 years ago the

Shark Cage Diving Cape Town March 2018
Shark Bytes

Shark Cage Diving Cape Town March 2018

Of most importance are the distressing news regarding the severe overfishing, and collapse of the Smoothhound and Soup fin shark populations by the hands of the demersal

New Level 4 Restrictions.

The new level 4 restrictions announced by the government of South Africa have not affected our shark tours and cage diving operations.

We are operating.

Book with confidence – if your day trip bookings are affected due to COVID 19 restrictions, free cancellation applies.

Looking forward to hosting you.