虎灘

分享這個帖子

現在是第十四個年頭,2016 年 南部非洲鯊魚探險隊 再次分享各種鯊魚物種、海洋大型動物群和每天意外驚喜的興奮。

今年探險隊的天氣異常出色,2 天中只有 11 天因大風或膨脹而消失。 海水條件變化很大,海水溫度在 17,8 到 23 攝氏度之間。 能見度在 3 到 8m 之間,低於正常水平,但至少可以讓我們每天潛水。  

我們大部分時間都在 de Hoop 海洋保護區東側的各種珊瑚礁上浮潛,也第一次潛水了幾個新的珊瑚礁。

兩天后,我們前往遠海尋找遠洋鯊魚和更清潔的水。 在第一次旅行中,我們在海上看到了四個小型光滑鎚頭鯊,以及兩條 Mako 鯊魚,以及一條 2.0+ 大藍鯊,並且有 2.8m 的大型青銅捕鯨船快速訪問。 我們還看到了大群正在餵食的鰹魚和小黃鰭金槍魚以及各種布氏鯨,也許還看到了兩次塞鯨,非常令人興奮! 有很多翻車魚,事實上,有一次我們看到一個很小的翻車魚“淺灘”,在一個很小的區域內至少有六隻翻車魚。 在靠近 Infanta 點的地方,我們用大約 500 只普通海豚潛入了兩個快速移動的小型誘餌球。

在第二次離岸旅行中,我們在 Infanta 點西南 36 英里處看到了兩條中型到大型藍鯊在船上,在回家的路上看到了一隻大小適中的藍鯊。 所有的魚群和更清澈的水都向東移動到 Struisbaai。 

近海珊瑚礁潛水對各種魚類來說都很棒,雖然我們確實看到了種類繁多的鯊魚,每個人都非常高興,但鯊魚數量是十四年來最糟糕的。

在我們的探險前兩週,我們在同一地區看到了數十條鎚頭鯊,而他的朋友讓·特雷斯豐 (Jean Tresfon) 從他的陀螺直升機上看到了他估計同一地區有數千條小鎚頭鯊。 

白玫瑰只是在屠殺鎚頭鯊和其他鯊魚。

可悲的是,當我們看到一艘“合法”的鯊魚延繩釣船“白玫瑰”號在一個區域的保護區旁邊連續設置時,保護區邊緣鯊魚數量減少的原因變得顯而易見潛水員和當地人都親切地稱其為“鎚頭胡同”。 白玫瑰只是在屠殺雙髻鯊和其他鯊魚。

當鯊魚離開保護區並繼續在 3 公里長的半島上巡邏時,就像他們在上下路線中所做的那樣,當白玫瑰號利用這種情況盡可能多地利用這種情況時,他們立即被抓住了天天預約。

在一個我們高興地簽署和受益於國際備忘錄聲明我們保護鯊魚的國際備忘錄的國家,我們的政府機構、管理人員和科學家如何允許這種不受管制的鯊魚屠殺至少可以說令人沮喪。 看在上帝的份上,這些鎚頭的長度大多在一米以下。

據稱白玫瑰的許可證規定,他們可以在一年中的任何時間捕捉任何大小的鯊魚和任何數量的所有未受保護物種(在南澳,只有大白鯊、鋸齒鯊、斑點溝鯊和姥鯊受到保護)。 因此,從本質上講,它們可以捕獲並殺死盡可能多的鎚頭鯊,而不受大小、性別或繁殖力狀態的限制。

登上白玫瑰號的保護官員說,她的船艙裡滿是這些小鎚頭。 可悲的是,在那裡有數百個,正如讓所看到的,可能有數千個,現在沒有了,該地區作為鯊魚保護區的價值毫無意義,因為至少沒有某種緩衝,這在許多地區是常見的,那一刻一條鯊魚離開該區域,就像大多數鯊魚一樣,它被殺死了。

我們還注意到鋸齒鯊、青銅捕鯨者和其他小鯊魚的數量明顯下降,這很容易推測很可能最終進入了白玫瑰。

經過十四年的旅行,將數百名國際遊客帶到我們的國家,並讓他們與我們一起花錢,在當地旅館和餐館,轉運公司,古玩,增加旅行等。如果這樣的話,我們認為再次這樣做沒有意義事態還在繼續。

我想知道,與持續的旅遊業、對我們國家的口口相傳以及看到這些鯊魚活著改變生活的看法相比,一次裝滿小鎚頭鯊的擱置與價值相比有什麼意義。

人們只能希望,如果鯊魚保護確實像他們所說的那樣成為我們政府機構的一個問題,那麼白玫瑰和其他人經營的許可證將得到更好的設計,更好的區域分配至少提供某種緩刑到鯊魚。 

文章贊助 南澳股份

相關博客

大白鯊牙齒
鯊魚紀錄片

Air Jaws 大白鯊的視覺慶典

誰能想到 2000 年我們為探索頻道的鯊魚週製作 Original Air Jaws 時,現在已經 18 年了

大白鯊鳥瞰圖
大白鯊新聞

南非大白鯊籠潛水的開始

南非大白鯊觀賞和研究產業始於 1980 年代後期。 經常默默無聞的開拓者是 PJ van der Walt

Sharks of Southern Africa, 2016

Tigerbeach

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

Now in its fourteenth year, the 2016 Sharks of Southern Africa expedition once again delivered its share of various shark species, marine mega fauna and the excitement of each day’s unexpected surprises.

The weather for this year’s expedition was exceptional, with only 2 out of 11 days lost to wind or swell. Water conditions varied dramatically, with sea temperatures ranging between  17,8 to 23 degrees Celsius.  The visibility ranged between 3 and 8m which was less than normal, but at least allowed us to dive on every day.  

We spent most of our time snorkeling on various reefs on the Eastern side of the de Hoop marine reserve, and also dived a few new reefs for the first time.

On two days we headed far offshore in search of pelagic sharks and cleaner water. On the first trip we saw four small Smooth hammerheads offshore, as well as two Mako sharks, and a good sized 2.0+ Blue shark with a very quick visit by a large 2.8m Bronze Whaler. We also saw large shoals of feeding Skipjack and small Yellowfin tuna as well as various Brydes whales, and perhaps two sightings of Sei whales, which was very exciting! There were many sunfish and in fact on one occasion we saw a small sunfish “shoal” with at least six sunfish in a very small area. Closer to Infanta point we dived on two small fast moving bait balls with around 500 Common dolphin.

On the second offshore trip which took us 36 miles SW of Infanta point, we saw two medium to large Blue sharks at the boat and one good sized Blue shark en route home. All the shoals of fish and clearer water had moved East towards Struisbaai. 

Dives on the inshore reefs were great for various fish species, and whilst we did see a good diversity of sharks and everyone was very happy, shark numbers were the worst they have been in fourteen years.

Two weeks prior to our expedition we saw dozens of Hammerhead sharks in the same area and a friend, Jean Tresfon, saw from his gyro copter what he estimated at being thousands of small Hammerheads in the same area. 

THE WHITE ROSE WAS SIMPLY MASSACRING THE HAMMERHEADS AND OTHER SHARKS.

Sadly, the reason for the decrease in numbers of the sharks at the edge of the reserve became all to apparent when we saw a “legal” shark longlining vessel, “The White Rose” making set after set right next to the reserve in an area divers and locals all fondly call “Hammerhead alley”. The White Rose was simply massacring the hammerheads and other sharks.

As the sharks left the reserve and continued to patrol a 3km long peninsula, as they do in their up and down route, they were instantly caught as the White Rose exploited the situation as much as possible by setting her lines exactly on the edge of the reserve day after day.

How in a country where we happily are signatories, and beneficiaries, to international memorandums stating our efforts to protect sharks, our governmental bodies, managers and scientists allow this unregulated massacre of sharks is disheartening to say the least. These hammerheads are mostly under a meter long for goodness sakes.

The permit on the White Rose supposedly states that they can catch any size sharks and in any quantity of all unprotected species at any time of the year, (In SA only Great Whites, Ragged Tooths, Spotted Gulley and Basking sharks are protected) . So, in essence, they can catch and kill as many hammerheads as they can with no limits on size, sex, or state of fecundity.

A conservation officer who boarded the White Rose said her hold was full of these small hammerheads. Sadly where there were hundreds, and as Jean saw, possibly thousands, there are now none and the value of the area as a reserve to sharks is pointless, as without at least some sort of buffer as is common in so many areas, the moment a shark moves out of the area, as most sharks do, it is killed.

We also noted a marked decline in Ragged tooth, Bronze whaler and other small shark numbers that is easy to speculate may well have ended up inside the White Rose.

After fourteen years of running these trips, bringing hundreds of  international tourists to our country and having them spend money with us , with local lodges and eateries , transfer companies, curio’s, add on safaris etc. we see no point in doing this again if this state of affairs continues.

I wonder what a once off hold full of small hammerheads equates to in dollars versus the value of on going tourism,  great word of mouth for our country and life changing perceptions seeing these sharks alive is worth.

One can only hope that if shark conservation is truly an issue for our governmental body as they purport, permits such as that which is operated by the White Rose and others will be better designed, with better area allocation that at least offers some sort of reprieve to the sharks. 

Article sponsored by SA Shares

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Blogs

Shark Cage Diving Cape Town March 2018
Shark Bytes

Shark Cage Diving Cape Town March 2018

Of most importance are the distressing news regarding the severe overfishing, and collapse of the Smoothhound and Soup fin shark populations by the hands of the demersal

shark cage diving South Africa
Shark Bytes

Shark Bytes March 2020

Great White Shark News during Lockdown in South Africa due to Covid-19 pandemic I have been writing Shark Bytes for close on 20 years now,

New Level 4 Restrictions.

The new level 4 restrictions announced by the government of South Africa have not affected our shark tours and cage diving operations.

We are operating.

Book with confidence – if your day trip bookings are affected due to COVID 19 restrictions, free cancellation applies.

Looking forward to hosting you.