名字里有什么? 海豹岛,福尔斯湾。

好望角

分享这篇文章

Cape Point 和 False Bay 的历史始于 1488 年,当时好望角被第一个到达好望角的欧洲人命名为“风暴角”; 一位名叫巴托洛梅乌·迪亚斯的葡萄牙探险家。 后来,葡萄牙的约翰二世称它为好望角,因为它是通往印度和东方的海上航线的第一次重要开放。 围绕好望角的传说有很多,但最受欢迎的是飞翔的荷兰人的传说。 1841 年,荷兰东印度公司的船长亨德里克·范德德肯 (Hendrick Vanderdecken) 曾试图绕过好望角。可怕的东南部反复打击了船只绕过半岛的企图。 船长的固执导致他无视船员恳求他转身放弃任务的请求。 无情的范德德肯将自己绑在方向盘上,发誓要继续前进,即使是上帝也无法改变他的想法。 人们听到了他的亵渎神明,一位天使被派去谴责他与一群幽灵般的死人一起在海洋中航行到永恒。 1881 年,在 HMS Baccante 上担任见习官的阿尔伯特王子和乔治王子(后来的乔治五世国王)在无数目击事件中见证了这个传说。这艘船的记录表明,飞行的荷兰人的外观是一艘全都发光的船,但在到达她时,没有什么可看的。 同一天,报案的海员从桅杆上坠落身亡。 其他目击事件包括二战期间一艘在非洲和南美洲之间巡航的英国战舰和一艘德国潜艇。 

SS Clan Stewart 在西蒙镇沉船的鸟瞰图

第一座建于 1860 年的灯塔位于麦克利尔角的顶部,海拔 250 米,俯瞰大西洋和假海湾。

福斯湾为什么叫福斯湾?

Hangklip 曾经被葡萄牙海员称为 Carbo Falso(假海角),他们误认为它是从东方返回的开普角。 他们犯了这个错误,因为 Hangklip 和 Cape Point 在形式上几乎相似。 绕过 Hangklip,他们发现自己在海湾中,而不是前往开普半岛的西侧前往桌湾。 由于我们的东南风很强,大多数船只要么搁浅,要么被困在海湾中无法离开。

由于我们险恶的海岸线、难以穿透的浓雾、狂风呼啸、被强风暴淹没的岩石以及海岸周围缺乏可识别的地标,航海者不得不使用过时的海图,也没有灯塔来引导他们。 这导致了许多沉船事故。 一艘仍然可见的沉船是 SS Clan Stuart。 蒸汽货船于 1914 年在鲭鱼海滩 - 格伦凯恩搁浅,蒸汽机缸体仍然可见。 SS Thomas Tucker(一艘“自由舰”)正在她的处女航中携带军用物资,当时她在浓雾中撞上了信天翁的岩石。 她船体的三个部分仍然留在 Olifantbos 海滩——开普角的岩石上。 福尔斯湾周围的沉船是受欢迎的潜水地点。 60 岁及以上的残骸受《国家遗产资源法》的保护。

开普角灯塔

第一座灯塔建于 1860 年,位于麦克利尔角的顶部,海拔 250m,俯瞰大西洋和福尔斯湾。 由于灯塔地处偏远,灯塔看守人难以获得三个月的油料和食物。 另一个问题出现了; 由于灯塔海拔高,经常被雾霾吞没,设施无法使用,又因灯塔看守人不断抱怨快饿死,商议在低层新建灯塔应该建。 1911 年 SS Lusitania 失事后,当局终于采取了行动。 第二座灯塔建在海拔较低的一块名为迪亚兹角的岩石上。 成为南非最强大的灯塔 is 它的光度为 10 万支蜡烛,塔底的连续红光在 77m 的焦平面上向南照射,帮助船只通过臭名昭著的信天翁和波纹管岩石。

罗马岩灯塔

进出西蒙镇湾时看到的著名灯塔,就是罗马岩灯塔。 这座灯塔建于1861年,是整个南半球唯一一座建在岩石上的灯塔。 建造起来极其困难和复杂,条件也很危险。 在暴风雨期间,灯塔会发生可怕的振动,并在暴风雨中被海水吞没,使得灯塔看守人无法出现。 1919 年,Romans Rock 灯塔无人值守,现在由海底电缆供电,这是南非唯一的一个。 Lusitania 沉船事故后的其他转帖促使在 Kommetjie 的 Slangkop Point 建造另一座灯塔。 Slangkop 灯塔是独一无二的,因为它是南非最高的灯塔,也是唯一一座用铸铁建造的灯塔。  

您可能还对我们的其他文章感兴趣, 开普敦鲨鱼笼潜水, 以及, 在南非开普敦庆祝福尔斯湾。

标签:开普角——开普敦,福尔斯湾

相关博客

大白鲨牙齿
鲨鱼纪录片

Air Jaws 大白鲨的视觉庆典

谁能想到 2000 年我们为探索频道的鲨鱼周制作 Original Air Jaws 时,现在已经 18 年了

说不
鲨鱼保育

无鲨鱼薯条

SHARKFREECHIPS 活动已启动。 在过去的几年里,一小群敬业的环保主义者反复敲响了警钟,南非的圆滑猎犬和

What’s in a Name? Seal Island, False Bay.

The Cape Of Good Hope

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

The History of Cape Point and False Bay begins in 1488 when the Cape of Good Hope was named “The Cape of Storms” by the first European to reach the Cape; a Portuguese explorer named Bartolomeu Dias. Later on, John II of Portugal called it the Cape of Good Hope, as it was the first significant opening of a sea route to India and the East. There are many legends that circle the Cape of Good Hope, but the most popular one is that of the Flying Dutchman. The legend is followed by Captain Hendrick Vanderdecken of the Dutch East India Company who attempted to round the Cape of Good Hope in 1841. The dreaded South Easter repeatedly thumped the vessel’s attempt to round the peninsula. The Captain’s stubbornness resulted in him ignoring the pleas of his crew begging him to turn around and give up his mission. The ruthless Vanderdecken strapped himself to the wheel and swore to carry on, and that not even God could change his mind. His blasphemy was heard and an Angel was sent condemning him to sail the oceans for eternity with a ghostly crew of dead men. Numerous sightings have kept the legend alive by Princes’ Albert and George (Later King George V) who were midshipmen on the HMS Baccante in 1881. The ship’s records state the appearance of the flying Dutchmen as a ship all aglow, but upon reaching her, there was nothing to be seen.  That same day, the seaman who reported her, fell to his death from the top of the mast. Other sightings include a British man-of-war cruising between Africa and South America and a German submarine during World War II. 

An aerial view of the SS Clan Stewart wreck off Simon’s Town

THE FIRST LIGHTHOUSE THAT WAS BUILT WAS IN 1860 IS ON THE TOP OF CAPE MACLEAR, 250M ABOVE SEA LEVEL AND OVERLOOKING THE ATLANTIC AND FALSE BAY.

Why is False Bay called False Bay?

Hangklip used to be known as Carbo Falso (False Cape) by the Portuguese seafarers who mistook it for Cape Point returning from the East. They made this mistake as Hangklip and Cape Point are almost similar in form. Rounding Hangklip they found themselves in the bay instead of heading up the western side of the Cape Peninsula for Table Bay. Due to our strong southeasterly winds, most ships either ran aground or were stuck in the bay and unable to get out.

Due to our treacherous coastline, impenetrable dense fog, howling gales, submerged rocks in strong storms, and lack of recognisable landmarks around the coast, navigators had to make do with outdated charts, and no lighthouses to guide them. This lead to many shipwrecks. One shipwreck that is still visible is the SS Clan Stuart. The steam cargo ship ran aground in 1914 off Mackerel beach – Glencairn, where the steam engine block is still visible. The SS Thomas Tucker (a ‘Liberty ship’), was on her maiden voyage carrying military supplies when she hit Albatross rock in dense fog. Three sections of her hull still remain on the rocks on Olifantbos beach – Cape Point.  The shipwrecks all around False Bay are popular diving sites. Wrecks that are 60 years and older are protected by the National Heritage Resources Act.

Cape Point Lighthouses

The first lighthouse that was built was in 1860 is on the top of Cape Maclear, 250m above sea level and overlooking the Atlantic and False Bay. Due to the remote location of the lighthouse, it made it difficult to get the three monthly supplies of oil and food to the lighthouse keeper. A further problem emerged; due to the altitude of the lighthouse, it was constantly engulfed by fog or cloud which rendered the facility useless, and due to the fact that the lighthouse keeper continuously complained about nearly starving to death, it was discussed that a new lighthouse at a lower level should be built. After the wreck of the SS Lusitania in 1911, authorities finally acted. A second lighthouse was built at a lower altitude on an outcrop of rock called Diaz Point. Being the most powerful lighthouse in South Africa is it has a luminosity of 10 million candles, a continuous red light at the base of the tower shining towards the south at a focal plane of 77m which helps ships pass the infamous Albatross and Bellows rock.

Roman Rock Lighthouse

The famous lighthouse that you see when entering and exiting Simon’s Town Bay, is the Roman Rock Lighthouse. This lighthouse was built in 1861. It is the only lighthouse built on a rock in the whole of the southern hemisphere. It was extremely difficult and complex to construct and the conditions were dangerous.  During storms, the lighthouse vibrated terrifyingly and was engulfed in water during heavy storms leaving the lighthouse keeper unable to emerge. In 1919 the Romans Rock lighthouse was unmanned and is now powered by an undersea electrical cable, the only one in South Africa. Additional reposts after the Lusitania wreck prompted for another lighthouse to be built at Slangkop Point, Kommetjie. The Slangkop Lighthouse is unique as it is the tallest in South Africa, and the only one to be built of cast iron.  

You may also be interested in our other articles, Shark cage diving Cape Town, as well as, Celebrating False Bay in Cape Town, South Africa.

Tags: Cape Point – Cape Town, False Bay

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Blogs

Shark Cage Diving Cape Town March 2018
Shark Bytes

Shark Cage Diving Cape Town March 2018

Of most importance are the distressing news regarding the severe overfishing, and collapse of the Smoothhound and Soup fin shark populations by the hands of the demersal

New Level 4 Restrictions.

The new level 4 restrictions announced by the government of South Africa have not affected our shark tours and cage diving operations.

We are operating.

Book with confidence – if your day trip bookings are affected due to COVID 19 restrictions, free cancellation applies.

Looking forward to hosting you.